We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab Week”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Bridge views Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Bridge views Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
View from Bridge views Lounge
View from Bedroom 1
Porlock Weir
Dramatic Beach & Moor
Woodland walks
Views over Porlock Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RubyDogBa...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab Week”
Reviewed 27 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Pack Horse. On our arrival we were met by Brian and Linda who made us feel extremely welcome and relaxed. We stayed in the Bridge View apartment which had all the space we needed plus lovely views of the bridge and ford. I would recommend the Pack Horse for its excellent location, accommodation ( including many cupboards and coat hangers) and very friendly owners.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJW39
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 15 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Packhorse is a little gem nestled in the Exmoor countryside. This was our third visit and we are returning in October and May of next year. Linda & Brian are wonderful hosts. Linda's knowledge of the area, (with little bits of history thrown in) and the many walks, straight from the cottages are invaluable. All of their cottages/apartments are furnished to the highest standard. The attention to detail, from the lighting to the bedding (we sleep so well) is lovely. We stayed in Bridge View with our two dogs. The views from almost every window are amazing. We are always lucky with the weather, and if I didn't know better, I would say that they manage to organise that too...!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandSShop...
Coventry
1 review
“A little bit of heaven on earth.”
Reviewed 26 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

A warm and friendly welcome from Linda and Brian. Very comfortable accommadtion in pretty courtyard setting. Surrounded by beautiful walks in picturesque Exmoor. We keep coming back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londoner0...
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Somerset”
Reviewed 19 December 2009 for a stay in December 2009

I had a wonderful weekend at the Pack Horse in Allerford, the apartment was lovely,and Linda and Brian the owners ,where so helpful ,Home from home, We went for the Porlock Christmas weekend and had the time of our life,,,Its an amazing place to stay with the little bridge in front of the Pack Horse,I cant wait to go back and take my dog next time Elaine

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dogholida...
Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Packhorse is TOPS”
Reviewed 15 September 2009 for a stay in April 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Found this excellent accomodation 3 years ago. We have 2 large dogs who holiday with us. The Packhorse and the friendly hosts Linda & Brian look after all your needs and requirements throughout your stay. Its perfectly placed to explore Exmoor. The dogs love it too. The accomodation is varied and we stay in different appartments or the cottage, depends on the size of our family on each visit. Good value for money, peacful, relaxed and you do your own thing. To find a place that caters for dogs and their families is a top priority for us. The Packhorse is TOPS for us and we come twice a year. I would gladly recommend it whether you have a pet or not. We are due back again later this year, can't wait. When you find a little gem, do you keep quite or tell everyone? Well, I've told you now !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing