We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Burston

Little Burston
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Burston
Swing, trampoline and football goal to entertain the Children Swim in the heated pool at the main house from mid May to end of September
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Little Burston
Swing, trampoline and football goal to entertain the Children
Swim in the heated pool at the main house from mid May to end of September
Looking out of the french windows at the patio and your private garden
Twin bedded room
View of the garden with patio, netted trampoline, swing and football net.
Open plan dining area and kitchen.
Ensuite bathroom from twin bedded room.
French windows open onto a paved patio area with table and chairs with the garden beyond.
Open plan kitchen, sitting room & dining area. Comfy sofas, TV, DVD & Freesat box. Internet access.
Large window in master bedroom with king size bed and ensuite bathroom.
Large windows create a very light space with views across the farm and your garden.
Owner (Carol Rous) with Sirius Black at the highest point of the farm. Easy walk from the cottage.
Trout lake stocked with rainbow trout. Bring a rod if you'd like to fish.
Trout lake on the farm. There's a small rowing boat & kayak for guests. Life jackets in the cottage
Use the tennis court at the main house whenever you like.
The Woodburner makes it cozy for winter visits.
Visit in the autumn and winter. Autumn colours on Exmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily P
2 reviews
“Great family holiday ”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a brilliant stay at Little Burston, would not hesitate to recommend it! The cottage is beautiful, clean and very well equipped. The setting is idyllic and everyone enjoyed rowing/kayaking/fishing on the pond. Lots of things to do and see in the surrounding area. We can especially recommend horse riding at West Anstey riding stables and the water sports on Wimbleball Lake. The Bridge at Dulverton was a favourite for dinner!
Thank you Carol and Simon (and Sirius!) who were the perfect hosts; helpful but not intrusive. And the scones on arrival were a lovely touch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Such a lovely family. So nice meeting you all. I hope we will see you again in the future.
Carol and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvjpark
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW - Amazing stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The moment we pulled up outside we knew we had chosen an amazing place to stay. The location was perfect for day trips out and the cottage perfect for wet days in! The children loved the use of the pool and trampoline. The space for the children to run around in was great and Carol and Tom were perfect hosts. We appreciated the lovely scones, jam, tea and coffee upon arrival. Would definitely recommend to anyone. The peace and quiet here was outstanding and we will definitely be back. The children were really sad to be leaving. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for being such lovely guests. We look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seantaylo...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Grand memories...again”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for 3 weeks a couple of years ago and wanted to return. This year 2 weeks in Little Burston. The place remains immaculate with every fixture and fitting of very high quality, immaculate and very clean.
Our 4 boys once again enjoyed the freedom of the vast private area to walk in freely, climb the hills, spot wildlife (we saw red deer, birds of prey, sheep, cows, geese etc.), kick a ball and trampoline in the garden, play with Sirius the owners black Lab and then a leisurely stroll to the private lake to catch a couple of trout and paddle around in the canoe and boat.
What could be better!
Dulverton village, a couple of miles away, has a range of shops and a Co-op for daily provisions, and we used a big Tescos at Tiverton, about 14 miles away. We like to drive to Exeter for the bigger shops, visit the cathedral and wander around. Lively University city.
Our boys also did a bit of pony trekking out onto Exmoor. Reasonably priced and a different experience for them.
There is a heap of pamphlets in the house for the various activities and places of interest in the house. Very useful.
The cream tea available on arrival is very welcome too!
Carol and Simon (owners) are always welcoming and any small issues that arise are dealt with immediately.
We hope to return again and highly recommend Little Burston. Just brilliant, especially if you have kids to keep busy. Wifi is a fallback if it's raining!
Love this place.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you Sean for this lovely review. I do hope we see you and your delightful family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellchris
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easter family stay at Little Burston”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My family and I (kids 10 and 8) states for 5 nights at Carol's fantastic holiday home. The location is stunning with fantastic views all around. We all loved the garden and kids made good use of the trampoline and football net aswell as the tennis courts.

We arrived early after an overnight drive from Scotland and Carol met us with home made scones and clotted cream for breakfast - a great start!

Inside the house all furnishings were of a high standard with everything you could need in the house and plenty of room for the four of us.

Location wise excellent with the nearby town of Dulverton have a couple of excellent restaurants and a local food store. We cycled regularly with most of the routes we researched with 30 min drive

Overall we had a fantastic week in Little Burston and the sunny April weather just added to our enjoyment.

We would definitely look to stay again - thanks again for your hospitality Carol!

Chris

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m1k5adi
1 review
“More than you could ever wish for!”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Situated in a calm peaceful location, close to the Devon/Somerset border, Little Burston is a superb and highly-equipped, offering all you could desire in a holiday cottage.
Our Hosts, Carol and Simon were always on-hand and their cheery welcoming charm certainly added to the quality of our stay.

We certainly enjoyed our break at Little Burston and hope it will be the first of many.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you Michael for this lovely review. It was so nice meeting you and Margaret. I hope you'll come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing