We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveller rating
981
32
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
981
32
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubricky's cookingthe craig goch roomhosts johnfree standing bathmynydd rugog roomhuge bathroomroll top bathcadair idrisstunning viewsfantastic foodwarm welcomethe main housebed and breakfastlocal areaidyllic locationeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

My mother-in-law treated us here for my birthday, we waited 3 months to get a reservation and it was well worth the wait. The food was unique and great and it's in our area, and the host was a true gentleman.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank sianjones2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Hello there Sian and I am so very pleased that you enjoyed my cooking and that your mother-in-law's birthday treat was such a success.
Best wishes from Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

It was a pity we were stopping at the Old Rectory on a cold October day as I would have loved to sit in the gardens on a warm evening watching the world go by - it is a very tranquil setting

A well appointed bedroom with a very comfy bed, a big bathroom. plenty of towels, lots of tea, coffee and proper biscuits. Great views from the room - watching the farmers bringing their sheep of the high hills.

Good breakfast with an amazing selection of fresh fruits and cereals.

Highly recommended

The owner suggested a couple of local places to visit that are not on the normal tourist routes and it was well worth the trip to see the church and the castle.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank WhatNoBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hello 'WhatNoBiscuits' thanks so much for leaving this kind review and i am relieved to read that you approved of our 'proper' biscuits which we leave in our bedrooms for guests to enjoy. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Tal-y-llyn and that the nearby castle and famous chapel in the next valley proved such a hit. This high recommendation and grading is truly appreciated.
Our very best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The bed was unbelievably comfortable, clean fresh sheets. After a LONGGG drive it was lovely to freshen up in the MASSIVE bathroom then come down for dinner. We had the three course meal with a bottle of wine, I cannot fault the food absolutely lovely, highly recommend the garlic mushrooms, welsh lamb and lemon tart! Good sized portions, could not finish everything sadly! After the meal we were so drained from the drive, so we laid in bed watching TV. Loads of channels to choose from.
Highly recommend the room overlooking the lake, every morning we laid in bed just looking out the window... bliss!
After a full say of driving around the GB Wales Rally we parked up and went for a walk around the lake, the weather wasn't so great being the end of October but was still beautiful views. When we came back I had a bath in the freestanding bath tub and relaxed.
Breakfast every morning was beautiful! I chose the Eggs royale but there was also Eggs benedict, full breakfast, cereal etc.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Mynydd Rugog room overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

When you both stayed last weekend three quarters of our guests were here to watch the Wales Rally GB and we are pleased that you managed to see some terrific action on the Saturday stage which was taking place not too far from Tal-y-llyn. And in fact everyone in the area is now very excited as the rally was won by 28-year old Elfyn Evans, from Dolgellau, which is about ten miles across the mountain from The Old Rectory on the lake. In fact his family's garage business service our own cars but we do not go off road nor hopefully drive as fast! Elfyn is the first Welshman to win the event and indeed the first British driver since 2000.
Kayleigh thanks so much for taking the time to post this review - amazingly our 950th! - together with some great images taken during your stay. I am so very pleased that you enjoyed Ricky's food, the bed, our views and of course the deep bath after your walk around the lake.
Our kindest regards to you both, John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

What a little gem, The Old Rectory has some stunning views.
It is very peaceful and quite.
We did not arrive until late, but John and Ricky were there to welcome us.
The room had a beautiful view of the lake and mountains.
We were there only for one night, but the breakfast was fantastic.
Would highly recommend The Old Rectory.

Room Tip: Over looking the lake
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

What a gem of a review and it is so much appreciated. We are so pleased that you so enjoyed your one night's stay with us and thanks for this glowing recommendation.
Kind regards from John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

An absolute gem of a place. Enjoyed an overnight stay. Room had a stunning view of the lake, food was amazing and the hosts a delight to meet. We came by this beautiful place while looking online and the reviews it already had convinced us to give it a try. We were not disappointed and we will definitely be returning. Highly recommend a visit to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank djones2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

We are so pleased that our reviews on here lived up to your expectations and thanks for taking the time to leave one yourself! Your kind comments have made our day and we both look forward to perhaps welcoming you into our home again.
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews