We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Okay for an overnight” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Paris, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay for an overnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a hotel that has clearly grown over the years and is hence rather rambling in nature. The reception is efficient and the restaurant is quite good, with choices from the board and from the menu that can be combined or interchanged. Service in the restaurant is mixed, with some very friendly and pleasant staff and some, frankly, requiring better training. Staying for one night is fine as the hotel is in a good location. Staying longer and the creaking floorboards, the challenge of finding your way from room to restaurant, etc. might become rather tedious. Wifi is free, however, which is a bonus for business travellers

Room Tip: The 'cottage' rooms are the best, near to the restaurant and probably the most modern in fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    143
    83
    45
    24
See reviews for
81
178
12
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Came down for a funeral.
The staff were friendly and efficient, they also spoke excellent English.
I would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenJCressey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
337 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We attended a friends birthday here recently and decided to stay over - no discount, even though quite a few booked rooms - as it was on until 1am. We had one of the function rooms, an additional room with private bar and large corridor where the hot buffet was served, there was a larger party on in the main function room.
The party was fab and all had a great time chatting, catching up, enjoying the singer and disco, those who managed to grab some food..enjoyed that too!
Sadly when we got to our room, we realised we were above the larger function room and after speaking to reception, were told it was on until 2am! It may be a good idea to mention this to people who are booking an overnight stay - it wasn't - or even allocating rooms away from late parties..? The music did finish around 2'ish, however there was much larking around easily until 3am, with one young lady having a very loud conversation on her mobile right outside our door..charming!
Our room was nice enough and the shower was fab, our early morning (booked) call didn't happen? We did make the breakfast in time and lovely it was too, though a little odd not being offered our own pot of tea or coffee, you have to summon the waiting staff each time.
It's a nice if quirky and oddly laid out hotel, the staff great, I would just question the pricing of rooms and definitely check what functions were on first..if you expect some, let alone a good nights sleep!!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

we were on a conference and stayed here for two nights
i dont mind a bit of olde worlds charm but this is just OLD
broken lift that sounds as if it is not going to make just one floor
two of us in one room but only one key per room ( which hotel doesnt have modern day plastic keys now , not old fashioned ones with a huge plastic stick on it)
room small and smelly - tiny bathroom
one of those hotels where each room is down a corridoor, up a flight of stairs, across a landing, down stairs then down another corridoor - hopeless if you are disabled or bad for walking
food dreadful - lunch and dinner in their "butlers" bar which was again dated and VERY pricey for quality
staff - young, inexperienced and spoke very poor english

wish we had been at the premiere inn !!!!!

Room Tip: ask for one near to reception so you dont need to walk miles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here while visiting friends in Shifnal, very nice place. They looked after us, and will be staying here again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dusty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.9 km away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
5.8 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
27.3 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
32.0 km away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
6.9 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Shifnal TF11 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price range (per night): $104 - $154
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Expedia APAC so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Shifnal
Park House Hotel England/Shifnal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing