We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
USD 136*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 104*
USD 100*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
USD 94*
USD 84*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
USD 201*
USD 142*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CheapTickets
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
453
107
25
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
453
107
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne roomsconescoach houselocal walkson arrivalweather forecastold rectoryspa bathwelsh borderupper courtdouble jacuzziowners and staffdog friendly hotelprivate patioexcellent foodbeautiful locationmain building
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Went for a long weekend. Was absolutely brilliant. Lovely welcome with tea and scones. Brilliant dinner with local produce from a small but ever changing menu. Good strong wine list as well. If you're into you walking there are brilliant routes with spectacular scenery. The owner will help you plan where you want to go over a cracking breakfast. The staff can't do more for you and the ambiance is the right side of homely with out being stuffy. If you like a chain hotel with health spar and loyalty card scheme I wouldn't bother. If you're looking for the personal touch with good food, friendly and helpful staff along with a treck through the countryside then get yourself there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at the Pen Y Dyffryn Hotel on our journey back home from a weekend in S Wales. Ths was to be a belated christmas present for my husband as the restaurant seemed very highly rated.
The overall ambiance of the hotel was good, welcoming staff, lounge areas with log fires, afternoon tea and scones on arrival.
The evening meal was nicely presented, the menu was interesting, however it just seemed to lack something to make it that little bit special. The final dissapointment of the meal was the price of the coffee, seemed fairly steep, after all the whole package for bed and breakfast and 4 course evening meal was not cheap by any means. Breakfast again was nicely presented, good food, but again lacking in that extra something...maybe we expected too much?
Bedroom very nice, clean, comfortable bed, lovely linen. Bathroom had a spa bath, the shower was rather a dissapointment as the power was very low. Towels were a treat, very white, very fluffy and excellent quality.
Overall a positive stay, but would not go out of our way to recommend it to family and friends.
.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m55w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I am not sure as to how many times my wife & myself have stayed here, at the "Lower Court", which is one of the four cottages at the back of the hotel, is very, very relaxing, and without telphone contact ( though this is only a few meters away ) we had the usual fantastic solution. Of course the food & views are up to the high standard, as expected. For us this is a great place to stay, but, min 2 nights. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Book one of the cottages.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil03091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pen-y-Dyffryn recently for 2 nights with our dog. Our criteria is a good standard hotel with great food which also accepts dogs - this can be quite a challenge to find, but we came up trumps with this hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much, the staff are very friendly and welcoming; our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with wonderful views over the valley and gardens; and the quality of the food was absolutely superb. This hotel has a very, very good chef, who cooks delicious meals. Therefore, we rate this hotel as being exceptionally good value for money. (Raymond Blanc take note, we enjoyed their food better than yours!)

Room Tip: The Rectors Room (Blue Room) is on the corner, first floor with dual aspect views. (There may be a little noise from the bar and lounge beneath).
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremiah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We went for the New Year Break and found the hotel friendly and warm. We enjoyed the log fires and the entertainment such as it was although there was only just room for all the guests to sit in comfort as a party comprising eight of the guests habitually commandeered one of the lounge areas. The food was of good quality and presentation with a hefty influence on meat and dairy. We would have appreciated some choice at the New Year's Eve gala dinner which had a set menu and came plated with rare to medium meat and game for starter and main course.With only eighteen guests it should have been possible to circulate the menu the day before and ensure that we were all catered for happily. We were disappointed that the "coach house room accessed via stone steps" was not only this but also over uneven pathways and steps with areas of algae and slope. Thank goodness it wasn't icy, and we are fairly agile walkers. The room would be beautiful in the summer . We had bought into a New Year package which included various afternoon teas and champagne and were amazed on leaving to be charged £4 for every cup of coffee we had had following our evening meal.

Room Tip: Avoid the Coach House rooms in winter.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dumble41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews