We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pleasant but not exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at the Pen Y Dyffryn Hotel on our journey back home from a weekend in S Wales. Ths was to be a belated christmas present for my husband as the restaurant seemed very highly rated.
The overall ambiance of the hotel was good, welcoming staff, lounge areas with log fires, afternoon tea and scones on arrival.
The evening meal was nicely presented, the menu was interesting, however it just seemed to lack something to make it that little bit special. The final dissapointment of the meal was the price of the coffee, seemed fairly steep, after all the whole package for bed and breakfast and 4 course evening meal was not cheap by any means. Breakfast again was nicely presented, good food, but again lacking in that extra something...maybe we expected too much?
Bedroom very nice, clean, comfortable bed, lovely linen. Bathroom had a spa bath, the shower was rather a dissapointment as the power was very low. Towels were a treat, very white, very fluffy and excellent quality.
Overall a positive stay, but would not go out of our way to recommend it to family and friends.
.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m55w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    101
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
405
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I am not sure as to how many times my wife & myself have stayed here, at the "Lower Court", which is one of the four cottages at the back of the hotel, is very, very relaxing, and without telphone contact ( though this is only a few meters away ) we had the usual fantastic solution. Of course the food & views are up to the high standard, as expected. For us this is a great place to stay, but, min 2 nights. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Book one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil03091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon, west mids, england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pen-y-Dyffryn recently for 2 nights with our dog. Our criteria is a good standard hotel with great food which also accepts dogs - this can be quite a challenge to find, but we came up trumps with this hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much, the staff are very friendly and welcoming; our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with wonderful views over the valley and gardens; and the quality of the food was absolutely superb. This hotel has a very, very good chef, who cooks delicious meals. Therefore, we rate this hotel as being exceptionally good value for money. (Raymond Blanc take note, we enjoyed their food better than yours!)

Room Tip: The Rectors Room (Blue Room) is on the corner, first floor with dual aspect views. (There may be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremiah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We went for the New Year Break and found the hotel friendly and warm. We enjoyed the log fires and the entertainment such as it was although there was only just room for all the guests to sit in comfort as a party comprising eight of the guests habitually commandeered one of the lounge areas. The food was of good quality and presentation with a hefty influence on meat and dairy. We would have appreciated some choice at the New Year's Eve gala dinner which had a set menu and came plated with rare to medium meat and game for starter and main course.With only eighteen guests it should have been possible to circulate the menu the day before and ensure that we were all catered for happily. We were disappointed that the "coach house room accessed via stone steps" was not only this but also over uneven pathways and steps with areas of algae and slope. Thank goodness it wasn't icy, and we are fairly agile walkers. The room would be beautiful in the summer . We had bought into a New Year package which included various afternoon teas and champagne and were amazed on leaving to be charged £4 for every cup of coffee we had had following our evening meal.

Room Tip: Avoid the Coach House rooms in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dumble41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Pen-y-Dryffryn is a lovely square stone-built house of comfortable size, overlooking a delightful quiet green valley. You enter and the sweet smell of the log fire beckons you to an armchair, There are papers to read, and a tray of tea and scones arrives with a smile from friendly receptionist. You may also see the resident dogs around, and many guests bring their own.

Because it was a Victorian vicarage, the rooms differ in size, and some are a short walk across well-tended gardens, with their own terrace. However, we expect that all rooms are comfortable, and ours was very convenient for a dog, with french windows.

The restaurant has a more modern decor, and the delicious cuisine reflects this, but you can still enjoy a traditional breakfast. It is the sort of place where guests talk to each other, and this reflects the easy amosphere created and sustained by the resident husband and wife owners.

It is not cheap, but the best never is.

Room Tip: The website shows the variety of rooms, but it is just as simple to telephone and ask for what you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComfortCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
6.4 km away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
4.8 km away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
28.2 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
22.4 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
31.1 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price range (per night): $197 - $367
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing