We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, self contained, pet friendly lodge”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Garden Lodge

The Garden Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Garden Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Garden Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Oswestry, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peter c
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely, self contained, pet friendly lodge”
Reviewed 27 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Lovely little lodge perfect for two and a dog. Garden enclosed to contain dogs so no escape worries!. Everything needed is there. Hosts very welcoming. Location is convenient for touring. Enjoyable stay had by all.
Downside is the traffic. Coming from the countryside ourselves, the traffic on the main road nearby was quite noisy. Also no 'attached' field to run dogs.
However that said it really is a lovely lodge.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALea2018t...
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful holiday let for two - excellent”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Very friendly and helpful owners, who couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable. Superb garden-setting. The lodge had everything we needed, so we ate-in and were able to save money by not buying evening meals, and besides, the garden views are so attractive that we were happy to do so. We'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip p
1 review
“Mid week stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A lovely welcome from Steven& Patricia lodge was beautiful and very peaceful Patricia had thought of everything even to putting heating on for when we got there would definitely stay again but for more than two nights next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again soon,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lodge- ical choice for couples with pets”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 5 nights and loved every minute. Great hosts Trish and Steve, great advice about where to go and places of interest. Lucy the Lab who welcomes you each day is great fun and got on great with our lurcher Tyger. The accommodation was warm and welcoming and you can easily relax in the fab garden with a cold beer. Perfect. Weather was great which always helps but there is lots to see and do from nearby Shrewsbury and the river walk to Llangollen which is also close by. The White Lion over the road welcomes the lodge guests and is really dog friendly - also the food was really good and varied from sea bass to burgers. Will definitely go back again and enjoy the peace and quiet in the iideal setting that is the lodge. Oh, and some great walks and views for you and your dog to enjoy on the common and nature reserve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you all and we hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldhamman
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of the most outstanding places we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It is hard to write a review with so many good aspects to applaud. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel totally welcome by Trish and Steve. The cottage itself was idyllic with beautiful gardens to sit out and enjoy the summer sun with a barbecue dinner and a few glasses of wine/beer.
Trish very kindly brought us some homemade Victoria sponge cake and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Steve made me quite envious when he walked me round his woodworking workshop and all the projects that he is taking on.They were in a nutshell just fabulous hosts and are a role model for all others. Will we return? Indeed we will and can't wait

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you both again,
Trish & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing