We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly”

The Sun Inn Corfton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Me and my family are away on holiday. I messaged the pub to see if it was dog friendly. I had a reply to say that they were. I said that we were walking there and would be muddy. We arrived as the pub opened and the gentleman knew who we were straight away. He had opened the pub just for us. His barmaid had called in sick and this was his day for brewing. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and was very friendly. He went that extra mike to make the kids feel at home. Would definitely visit again. Thank you

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank beckypilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORVEDALE, Barmaid (Megan) at The Sun Inn Corfton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Glad to hear that the Boss (Norman) can cope without me!


Thank you for a lovely review and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the pub"
in 12 reviews
"own micro brewery"
in 4 reviews
"faggots"
in 3 reviews
"feel welcome"
in 3 reviews
"car park"
in 5 reviews
"bar staff"
in 2 reviews
"beef"
in 2 reviews
"great beer"
in 2 reviews
"real ale"
in 2 reviews
"food was lovely"
in 3 reviews
"range of beers"
in 2 reviews
"proper food"
in 2 reviews
"worth the detour"
in 2 reviews
"regular haunt"
in 2 reviews
"lovely traditional pub"
in 2 reviews
"warm welcome"
in 3 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 3 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stumbled upon this place on our way north from a weekend at Hay on Wye. What a find. The beer was so good we took a dozen home with us! (All three of the house beers our great. My favourite is the oatmeal stout, but my OH likes the dark, which he says is not as sweet and "has something about it". The place was buzzing with people eating Sunday dinner. It was On the advice of the landlord, we tried the vegetarian lasagne. Well, it was like no lasagne that we'd ever had, but it tasted absolutely terrific, so full of flavour. It came with a big bowl of chips to share and a nice side salad. The place was homely and fun. Everyone was friendly. We were able to bring our dogs with us. We are going to make an effort to find this place again. Worth the detour.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank kwhalenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORVEDALE, Barmaid (Megan) at The Sun Inn Corfton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thanks for your great review, we are happy that we could satisfy your dietary requirements and that you enjoyed our extensive range of on site brewed beers. It was also lovely to meet your gorgeous doggies who can most certainly come again and bring along there humans aswell if they so wish. We look forward to seeing you again.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Cosy traditional pub with an amazing selection of craft beers. Norm is always very welcoming and kindly opened up the pub for us the day after our wedding so that we could celebrate with friends and family. We also featured a keg of his finest ale at our wedding! A great place to visit following a long walk in the Shropshire Hills or for a cosy evening pint.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank joholliday2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORVEDALE, Barmaid at The Sun Inn Corfton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thanks for your wonderful review, It was our pleasure to open up the pub for you to celebrate your day. Glad that you enjoyed your day and we hope to see you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Norman and Meghan were so lovely, atmosphere was great and the beef was ‘melt in the mouth’. My son loved his homemade carrot cake and declared he wanted to go there everyday! If you love craft beers it is also the place for you. All in all a lovely place to stop.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank ZoeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORVEDALE, Barmaid at The Sun Inn Corfton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you and to have you stop in at long last. Had a thoroughly enjoyable conversation with you both and happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We were staying in a lovely cottage The Plough Barn in Munslow when we came across this lovely pub, the landlord Norman and his lovely chatty barmaid Megan made us feel really welcome, we visited a couple of times whilst staying at the Cottage, and they were just as welcoming and friendly as they were the first time. Some great amazing beers and some lovely food. Just wish it was my local, but there again I would probably end up with a drink problem if it was. Well worth a visit!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORVEDALE, Barmaid at The Sun Inn Corfton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thanks for your lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you drop in and thanks for putting up with my constant nattering (I am sure Norman would more than agree I can talk the hind leg off a donkey at times.) We look forward to seeing you both again, wish you all the luck with the lands end cycle ride and hope to see you upon your travels. Norman has no doubt he may well bump into you in a pub in Burton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn Corfton also viewed

 

Been to The Sun Inn Corfton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing