We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
97
43
25
29
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
43
25
29
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsposter bednepalese foodnew ownersa lovely staypubs and restaurantsgood nights sleepstayed for one nightjuliandogskesh
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We a lovely stay here; the staff went above and beyond for us (letting us check in early to get ready for a wedding, driving us to the venue) and the room was clean and cosy. Breakfast was good quality and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nairb659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night - nice and clean, very friendly staff great breakfast. Limited free parking. Good value for money. Local museum worth a visit, plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night to attend function in Witney. Previous reviews were mixed, but the new owners are making a real effort and we would definitely recommend. It's not a new building and the parking was a bit random, but the the room, although not massive was clean, newly decorated and generally had a nice freshness about it.
We only had breakfast, which is by order rather than self service, and it was good and served promptly. Breakfast was in the bar/restaurant, which was also fresh and newly refurbished.
The new Nepalese owners are making a real effort to please and how often do you get a handshake and thank you when you settle the bill? A pleasant stopover with a personal touch.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Really enjoyed our stay here, we was a little apprehensive about the previous reviews. The rooms were clean ,tidy, and although quite small this didn't alter the fact that ..hey its quite nice here!. The people who run it are Nepalese and most of the menu ( at night ) consists of curries ( obviously!!) but the English food although limited was excellent...as was the Nepalese food. The owners of only three or four months are working very hard indeed to make this place a success. I think they are on there way! As the manager explained its still very much WIP and things ( decorating etc.) is being addressed. The road noise is a little bit of a pain but they are now fitting secondary double glazing to sort this......would I stay again??? yes !!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the court are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We booked 1 night over this weekend and decised to treat ourselves by paying for an Exec. room. The reviews of this hotel were mixed but that's not unusual and the photo's on Booking.com looked good.
We had Room 2 which is right at the front of the hotel, so lots of road noise. To keep the room cool we had to open a window, more noise.
Yes the room has a 4 poster bed and yes it was comfortable, but it was too big for the room, as was the enormous wardrobe.
The on-suite was an unrefurbished room from the 1970's and no loo rolls, we had to ask for them. From reading reviews other rooms may be better but if you are offered room 2, as to see another room and definitely don't pay on arrival.
Breakfast is by order, so be sure to ask for exactly what you want. Bacon,sausage & Egg gets you exactly that, one of each and anot very good fried egg. The quality of the bacon and eggs was good through.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road, so not rooms 1,2,3 or 4.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews