We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
117
104
49
37
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
104
49
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch eggpork bellymini barhigh streetvisiting witneywarm nightcentral locationbreakfast was includednice atmospherelovely roomstayed for one nightcooked to perfectioncomfy bedfull englishboth nightsmain buildingmenu
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Last year excellent! this year not so good.
Our table was in what was obviously the conference room at rear which is quite scruffy and in need of decorating. Very little effort had been made to hang xmas decorations so the atmosphere was not at all festive.It felt like we were sitting in a village hall.
The staff were all very attentive and friendly and helpful.
The food--- Starters were unimpressive! Ihad the smoked mackeral pate, barely a teaspoonful and no butter. Asked for the butter which arrived served in an alluminium
pudding bowl?. Soup was good. Other starters were just ok.
Main courses were all good, well cooked and presented.
Puddings were again less than average in presentation and portion.
I had the chocolate pudding which was a blob of melted chocolate fondant with ice cream. Tasted ok but looked like an accident.
this was all rather disapointing for £75.00 per head.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spiron1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hi mikeyhoward75,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your Christmas Day lunch, it goes without saying that we never set out to let anyone down, especially at Christmas. We do agree that the private dining room is in need of a lick of paint and we are looking into decorating this as soon as possible. We did make as much effort as possible with Christmas Decorations (without being tasteless) so we apologise if you feel this was not festive enough. With regards to the food, we appreciate the feedback and apologise if this was not to your liking, the butter dish is our standard serving item across our estates. That said, we hope you will return and give us another try in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas.
Room was very comfortable with a great bed.
One evening had a meal in hotel’s restaurant. Very good quality.
Breakfast was also very good.
All the staff we had dealings with were helpful, friendly, and above all else, they came across as happy.
Will stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hi Andrew C,

Thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a Merry Christmas! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Very nice period hotel with some lovely features. The room a little small. Could only get in the bed from one side.

First class staff, very friendly and helpful. Had problem trying to find a parking space and drove around Whitney for half an hour. Parking is free in the Waitrose carpark.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 223Will57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Hi 223Will57,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We arrived to a very friendly welcome. Pub nice relaxed atmosphere, good food, family friendly. Our room was clean, and had nice touches like tea tray, toiletries and mini bar. However we were in the 'annexe' and our room looked nothing like the rooms on website. Comfy beds but basic room, no character. Also very noisy at night, as there was a court yard and public walk through between pub and annexe.
Lovely location. Witney is a great little town. Breakfast was lovely. Very big! All good quality local produce, nice atmosphere at breakfast. Professional and attentive.
We will definately stay here again but only if we could have a room in main pub. Not interested in staying in the annexe again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank floodyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hi floodyk,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall but apologise if you feel the annexe lacks character, all feedback is appreciated in order for us to improve so we will definitely pass your comments on and look forward to seeing you again (in a different room).

Kind Regards,
The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Came here with friends for our annual
Meal, I have to say that the food was delicious, every single mouthful! We all enjoyed it. I had pork belly and I have to say that it was melt in your mouth! Chocolate brownie was absolutely gorgeous! As for the service well Chris( tall short hair. moustache ) couldn’t do enough for us, he was fantastic! Thank you for a lovely evening! We will come again!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dazza198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hi dazza198,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we're so pleased you had such a lovely time and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews