We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful country cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ox House

View from Ox House towards the village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Ox House towards the village
Kitchen with breakfast bar and bespoke spiral staircase Comfortable living room with TV, DVD & docking station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
View from Ox House towards the village
Kitchen with breakfast bar and bespoke spiral staircase
Comfortable living room with TV, DVD & docking station
Luxurious upstairs bathroom with double ended slipper bath
Downstairs bedroom with kingsize bed
Stylish downstairs shower room
Staircase leading to feature bridge
Living room with woodburning stove
Dining area with access to outside decking
Upstairs twin room
Bridge to upstairs twin room
Front entrance
View of the property from the surrounding 10 acres
Brill Windmill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thame, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
roslynb17...
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful country cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thank you Derek and Jane for a fantastic 8 nights at Ox house. We were so comfortable and had everything we need. The country setting with sheep, rabbits and occasionally a fox in the field gave us a real English experience. We loved that it was so private and had fields all around. The house has beautiful big windows so you could enjoy the surroundings. The kitchen is open plan and well equipped. It was so cosy with the modern lighting and underfloor heating. We would definitely stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you and your family and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rof16
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, near the village. Loads to do”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very comfortable accommodation, very well equipped. Lots of walks from the front door and many National Trust properties in the vicinity. Local pubs splendid and within walking distance as is the village store.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glorious week-end ! will visit again .”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Perfect on all counts , myself and three friends spent two nights recently and loved everything about Ox House .
We had plans to go out for each day which we happily did , but would have been just as pleased, to have stayed in the house to soak up the tranquillity and gorgeous surroundings.
Thank you so much for making the booking process so easy Jane , and it was lovely to meet you . Definitely will see you again !

Linda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up in the morning and just seeing sheep and rabbits !
Liked least: Leaving !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
Thank you Linda - we'd be delighted to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paupine
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at Ox House”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a really lovely stay at Ox House because of its quiet but convenient location with countryside views. My daughter was thrilled to see the pigs, chickens and sheep close up daily. Quick drive to Brill village for groceries and places to eat. The owners are genuinely kind and friendly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurakeye...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We chose Ox House as we were getting married at Notley Tythe barn in Long Crendon and wanted somewhere closeby to get ready. The house is beautifully decorated with stunning surrouding views. Lovely village and setting. We have booked to stay again next year for our anniversary!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing