We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay at Ox House”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ox House

View from Ox House towards the village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Ox House towards the village
Kitchen with breakfast bar and bespoke spiral staircase Comfortable living room with TV, DVD & docking station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
View from Ox House towards the village
Kitchen with breakfast bar and bespoke spiral staircase
Comfortable living room with TV, DVD & docking station
Luxurious upstairs bathroom with double ended slipper bath
Downstairs bedroom with kingsize bed
Stylish downstairs shower room
Staircase leading to feature bridge
Living room with woodburning stove
Dining area with access to outside decking
Upstairs twin room
Bridge to upstairs twin room
Front entrance
View of the property from the surrounding 10 acres
Brill Windmill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thame, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paupine
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at Ox House”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a really lovely stay at Ox House because of its quiet but convenient location with countryside views. My daughter was thrilled to see the pigs, chickens and sheep close up daily. Quick drive to Brill village for groceries and places to eat. The owners are genuinely kind and friendly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurakeye...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We chose Ox House as we were getting married at Notley Tythe barn in Long Crendon and wanted somewhere closeby to get ready. The house is beautifully decorated with stunning surrouding views. Lovely village and setting. We have booked to stay again next year for our anniversary!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel652
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Superb!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stumbled accross the details for Ox House by accident. What a find!! Cottage is simply superb! We hired the cottage for my daughter and bridesmaids to stay in the night prior to her Wedding at Dorton House in April.
The cottage is stunning inside and out; the pre-wedding phots I am sure will be gorgeous!!
Location is geat with excellent views. All who visited during our stay fell in love with Ox House. Jane (the owner) is so easy to deal with and nothing is too much trouble. I would definately recommend the cottage - even if you do not have a Wedding to attend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review! We are very glad to have contributed (in a very small way!) to the success of the wedding weekend! I look forward to seeing a photo or two! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra120...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hen-weekend”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What an amazing place to have our hen-weekend. It's so thoughtful of you to leave a welcome pack for us and to even come back at night and drive us up to the Pointer restaurant for dinner. There is everything you would need as if you were at home all packed away nice and neat ready for use.
If I had a cottage to let out I wouldn'tchange a thing. It's perfect. I won't hesitate in recommending Ox House to anyone.
Ps Thanks to Derek for the car assistance. 4 woman and cars don't mix. Lol Thanks for everything. Sandra xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments - so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Good luck with the wedding, I hope it's a very happy day for you all. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnB266
Bolton
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Simply Brill”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Ox House is a fantastic let in a great location.

The house is modern, well equipped, comfortable, and very relaxing. It's quiet and secluded but with excellent access to everything you need. We all loved it. My aged parents had a bit of difficulty with the state-of-the-art lighting and sound systems ... but I thought they were excellent.

Lots to do in the (reasonably near) area with visits to Oxford, Waddesdon Manor and Bletchley Park all pretty easy from here during our stay.

Jane and Derek both very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

I recommend this property without hesitation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely place in great location
Liked least: selection of food at local pubs (not the best)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing