We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable cottage. Loved the village of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Lane Cottage

The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
approaching the annexe down the long gravel drive. Parking for guests in front of annexe views of the fields from the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
approaching the annexe down the long gravel drive. Parking for guests in front of annexe
views of the fields from the bedroom
the lounge/ diner
the spacious and light double bedroom
modern, quality bathroom
over 1 acre of gardens
an English country Garden
The main house in the Snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Thame, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marcraig2...
Roleystone, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage. Loved the village of Thame.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We chose Thame, as it was a good place to explore the surrounding areas that interested us. One such outing was the Midsomer Murders trail and we also found interesting places, that we didn't know existed.. The weekly market in Thame is worth a look.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Room sizes and views
Liked least: Overall offering not clean/operational and not value for money, plus everything seemed to be done "on the cheap".
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
thank you for the review Mike. I am sorry that you felt the garden was overgrown. We had a number of flowers alongside the annexe wall that survived very late into the Autumn given the mild weather we had. As they were bringing lots of colour we didn't want to cut them back but I do recognise they were spreading onto the path. Since the frost finally got them they are all cut right back now. We look forward to a fresh bloom in spring.

The bed had unfortunately been moved and the central support needed adjusting as it got bent. This has been fixed. It is a very good quality, king size bed from John Lewis with a good quality new mattress. People tell us that they find the bed very comfortable but I know beds and pillows are a very personal thing.

We have put in some additional pillows however to give people and option of the types of pillows they prefer.

We do live in a village with no street lighting so I agree that it does get dark at night. We do provide a torch and 2 outside lights. I am looking at replacing the floodlight at the front of the house.

Re the heating we do leave simple instructions in the document that we send to all guests about how to turn up and down the thermostat. We find this works well and avoids the problems that can occur when people try and change the programmes on the thermostat

We do try to make it clear that the apartment is on the first floor and that it is not therefore suitable for people with physical impairments.

We welcome comments and look to keep improving the property. We have just ordered a new sofa bed. Although the existing one is only a few years old the cushions have not worn well so we are replacing with a new and very comfortable sofa.

I am sorry you found some cobwebs. We pride ourself on the apartment being very clean so we will try extra hard to spot these in the future

Thanks again for your feedback

Best wishes

Jonathan and Tais
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LJMarkey
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
“Apt. In Thames UK”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great location for our needs.
Nice Country setting.
Private. Owners very nice and helpful. Quick to respond with booking and deposit refund.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette R
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely rural setting”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After viewing property on Trip Advisor, i expected going to an olde worldy thatched cottage annexe but instead it was an upstairs annexe above an outbuilding.
A little musty smell but all in all, we had everything we wanted. Bathroom a little tiny with a very small shower and insufficient lighting.
Quite expensive for the basic quality of furnishings - needs an upgrade.
The situation of the annexe was really good-near enough to London or Oxford and lots of lovely English countrtside

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Idyllic atmosphere
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing