We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you need to get away from it all......”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Lane Cottage

The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
approaching the annexe down the long gravel drive. Parking for guests in front of annexe views of the fields from the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
approaching the annexe down the long gravel drive. Parking for guests in front of annexe
views of the fields from the bedroom
the lounge/ diner
the spacious and light double bedroom
modern, quality bathroom
over 1 acre of gardens
an English country Garden
The main house in the Snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Thame, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
crissyson...
1 review
“If you need to get away from it all......”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

..... Old Lane Cottage is perfect for doing so. Beautiful location, well equipped and very friendly owners. The nearby town of Thame provides shops and pubs and there are plenty of places to go on long walks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harro V
Goes, The Netherlands
1 review
“Looking for a place to recharge the batteries? Look no further!”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What can I say? I was looking for a place to get away from it all, and I found it!

I am a very light sleeper, but I slept like a baby. Even though the place is in the owners back garden, you don't notice they're there. Note that given they have small children, that might be different in the summer, when they play in the garden.

The place is spacious enough for two, with a large bedroom. If I had to make a remark, it would be about the bathroom. If you are, like me, a "sizable person", the bathroom is very small, and the shower cubicle is absolutely tiny.

Compared to all the other places I've stayed in over the years, I found the price, especially out of season, a bit on the steep side for the location and for what was on offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility of the place
Liked least: I can't think of anything negative
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allotment...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful with amazing views and garden.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is ideal for anyone wanting a very quiet walking or cycling holiday, do take your cycles! The cottage has views over fields, expect to see cows and horses as you are eating breakfast. The village pub across the road with its excellent food and beer is an added bonus - no wonder the oven is still brand new. The garden is exceptional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Trying to turn the car around in the drive
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri T
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, cozy stay and helpful owner”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Me and my wife were visiting London for 12 days, but we preferred a country side stay, so we chosen this cottage. The place is cozy and like our home in UK, the view is great, we enjoyed the stay. Jonathan and his wife are a helpful and friendly person. And they responded our booking very fast and provide good description on how to get to their place. Driving is a must if you would like to stay there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veerle De...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Friendly owners, we could use the shed for parking our tandem bike. Nice view from the window, quiet place to sleep.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing