We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wagon in the woods

The Hot tub, filled with fresh water and wood fired all included in the price
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hot tub, filled with fresh water and wood fired all included in the price
Table and bench
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Hot tub, filled with fresh water and wood fired all included in the price
Table and bench
It's a bath!
BBq and campfire area
Enjoy a cosy, rest-filled retreat in rural Hampshire
Complementary milk, tea, coffee, sugar and a wagon wheel!
Inside flushing toilet
Retro outside but inside it's DAB!
Cutlery, plates, pans etc all you need to rustle up a feast!
The view of the hot tub and wagon while you dine on some flame grilled delights!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Medstead, Alton, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charley H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Five stars doesn't even do this place justice!

Just returned from a surprise visit for my girlfriends birthday and it was everything I had hoped it would be. It was perfect.

The cabin itself has been built expertly, you could see a lot of time and effort had been put in to it to make it feel ever so homely.

The hot tub, just woah. Warmed by a log burner alone! Sitting in the tub with a few drinks and looking out to the fields was a great way to end the night... We even had a visit from some cows and chickens!

I highly recommend visiting the Wagon, I can assure it will not disappoint.

Thanks a lot, Ralph! We hope to return again �

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but the hot tub takes it.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welhamtj
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Country Escape”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Having been to Ralph's other property, The Bluebird Penthouse, we had a feeling it would be something special and we weren't disappointed. The Wagon is small but perfectly formed with every detail carefully thought out. In a peaceful woodland setting with lovely views from both The Wagon itself and the outdoor hot tub, it also boasts a comfortable BBQ area backing on to the woods themselves. We will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon622
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ridiculously great country break”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I am delighted to have discovered this little gem.

The room is beautifully built by Ralph, and designed with gorgeous details; copper piping, pretty towel rails (yes really!), no plastic at all - everything made in natural material with care. The window is stunning with views over rolling fields.

It is set in its own little enclave at the end of the long and ambling garden, sheltered by trees.

The hot tub was a breath of fresh air; fired by a wood burning stove, it has none of those chemicals or roaring bubbles that you find yourself shouting over.

We spent much of our stay around the fire, immersed by trees. What you can't experience in the photos is the lovely birdsong that surrounds you.

A truly chic destination. No detail overlooked, nothing left wanting.

A fantastic escape from the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wren165
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat with special touches”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

An overnight stay for our last break before our baby arrives. It was a gorgeous sunny evening and we enjoyed a bbq while the sun set. The hot tub under the stars was very special (and adjustable temperature so not to hot for a pregnant lady!). Waking up to the dawn sky looking out of the huge window was lovely as was a bath watching the birds on the bird table.
The wagon is full of quirky and special touches like the bath, the metal bucket sink (plumbed in) and good decor. The space is very well used and the setting is stunning.
We definitely want to return with baby.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The sunken bath looking over the bird table
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kremmen19...
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Relaxing change”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Self indulgent stay here for a bit of the (not too ) simple life. Everything was available in the wagon including a bath and toilet. Wonderful sunrise through the big round window facing across fields. Host was very friendly .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing