We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of White Horse

White Horse
Ranked #28 of 102 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: White Horse is part of the Greene King Local Pubs brand. Our pubs are high-energy, upbeat and focused on providing quality food, local ales and fine wine. Whether you’re a nearby resident or a tourist enjoying a day out, our pubs are welcome pit stops for anyone who enjoys a refreshing pint of real ale and freshly prepared food in a friendly and lively atmosphere.
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Popped in here on a whim on a drive North. Very cute, quaint, and clean. Staff very polite. Food was delicious. My son had fish and chips, daughter the Sunday roast husband the chicken and mushroom pie and I had a burger. Great selection of draft beer. Everything was wonderfully prepared and reasonably priced. Would recommend and would return.

Thank TravelsWithKids44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0tte99, General Manager at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for the great review it’s always nice to know when you get it right
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile



I booked a table on line, we had asked (on line) for a table at the end of the restaurant, originally we were shown one at the top, this was soon rectified. The staff were friendly and welcoming, our food was just ok, the veg over cooked and the chicken pie a little disappointing, but the steak wrap was good. The food is good value for money but the pies and veg could have been better. The new management have continued the tradition of having good beers, served at the right temperature, the staff topped up our glasses with a smile. I would eat there again.

Thank Morlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0tte99, General Manager at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

I’m sorry we did not live up to your expectations this time please come and see me next time your in and I see if we can fix the problem for you
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

The pub has recently undergone a refurb and change of management and both have taken the white horse to new levels! Food is great value for money and the pub has got a fantastic atmosphere! Proud to call it my local again!

Thank Onlythebest1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0tte99, General Manager at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thanks for the great review see you soon
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Came in the evening of 24/02/18, greeted by the staff in a welcoming manner.
Was a very busy night amazing atmosphere went up to the bar to find a table for me and my partner and two children. Alex the new manager got the young brunette waitress to show us to our table and she was very polite and made us feel very welcome. The food was amazing 5* to the chefs, the young waitress who took us to our table came and checked our meals were ok!! They were fab!! The young waitress had also then served our two children with their ice cream deserts after the mains and also managed to cheer the two little ens up. Favourite member of staff we will be visiting again and making it a regular evening out now knowing that the staff were very welcoming and most of all the waitress for giving a brilliant service even though it was a busy night!! Thank you!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0tte99, General Manager at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks for the great review hope to see you soon
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We popped in for dinner last night and had a lovely time.

Staff were very friendly. The atmosphere was warm and very welcoming. There were a good number of people in both the pub and restaurant area.

We ordered a chicken and calamari burger as well as a chicken tikka masala. Both meals were of good portion, served promptly and tasted really good. Could not fault the food at all. Only tip I would give is to get rid of the paper under the burger - Eating my burger with a knife and fork resulted in a bite of paper with the burger :) Only a little thing.

Would recommend to family and friends and would visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MartinW431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0tte99, General Manager at White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you for your review pleased you enjoyed your self hope to see you soon
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse also viewed

 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing