We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
30
1
3
2
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
1
3
2
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station budget hotel town centre family room minute walk a lovely stay midlands nottingham venue
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

A review...
It was terrible. The worst experience ever. You took the entire payment leaving me in an embarrassing situation, when you attempted to recitfy this you paid the wrong account. We were offered drinks by way of compensation, they never materialised. The room was filthy, faeces in the toilet, filthy bath mat in the room which was freezing and stunk of cigarettes. You did swap rooms but that was also freezing. No spare blankets, no details of the wifi code or where to get food. No menus no evidence of room service. Its horrible to have to walk through your staff smoking cigarettes as you enter. The only saleable item that was mentioned was a 'pool room'. That was out if order! As we left we noted a torrential downpour in the stairwell which neither inspires confidence in the building's integrity or provides a sense of warmth or coziness. We are not from the area and the hotel stay was in order to spend time with family at a family event. We were highly disappointed. The ad also states breakfast included. No such thing. This facility needs sorting out. I want my money back

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

we booked a room at the Midland for a couple of nights, the room was clean and spacious. The only thing is that they don't do food but apparently, they are opening their restaurant in a couple of weeks. They have a pool table room and a great bar called Brunels. We went out into town but came back to Brunel's as the music was better and they had a offer on cocktails. Ended up having a great night saturday

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

My friends and i were going to go on the train to Nottingham from Mansfield, and as we walked up the station we noticed a new bar in the midland hotel call Brunels, as we had some time to wait for the train we decided to get a drink in there as it was snowing, the staff a were really friendly, and to cut a long story short, the music was absolutely great, a lot of nineties house mixed with some new stuff, obviously the place has had a nice refit and they were doing lots of cocktails, so we just ended up staying there, until about one in the morning, the atmosphere was just right, and we will defiantly be returning, i hope they keep that great music going!!!! well done them!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Well what can I say, me and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights while celebrating my birthday and the staff were so nice to us, the room was warm, comfortable, and just overall great worth for money, being right next to the bar also had its benefits of not even having to leave the hotel to celebrate! 5 stars would 100% come back here again for an extended stay!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

One of my friends sons worked here, he sadly died 5th January, the owners have not paid his wages owed and refuse to acknowledge correspondence requesting that they rectify this. Shocking that they would even believe that could be an option.

Room tip: choose to stay elsewhere
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank meemo2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews