We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect Easter Break!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Donkey Barn

Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove Comfy recliner sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove
Comfy recliner sofas
Large & light kitchen area
Front of Donkey Barn
Private and secluded garden area,perfect for children and dogs.
Twin bedroom
Kids bunk beds next to ensuite.
Kids play area can be accessed from double bed room & twin bed room
Children's play garden shared with two holiday lets. Some equipment removed due to H&S
Two tawny owls in care at The Sanctuary - however cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
Jess the barn owl in care at The Sanctuary (not on permanent view)
Rescued ponies & goats to feed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geoff d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect Easter Break!”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights over Easter weekend. The whole family had a great time despite the wet weather you get this time of the year. The hot tub was just the pickup we needed after our long days enjoying the local activities. We relaxed in there for hours before transferring to a cosy night around the wood burner. The barn was suitable for the whole family, the kids would take themselves off the play area then we'd feed the animals. The grounds even provided a great setting for the Easter Bunny to leave Easter Eggs for the kids to find. It was very comfortable, even my mother who suffers severe arthritis had no complaints, which is unheard of.
It's in an ideal location, with attractions of Holy Island, Bamburgh and Alnwick Castles to the North and Beamish Museum to the South.
I'd highly recommend a holiday here.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Hi Geoff
Thank you so much for a glowing review . So glad the whole family enjoyed themselves and enjoyed both the hot tub and the wood burner - both much needed in the recent awful wet weather!
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and hope we see your family back visiting Donkey Barn again one day.
Kind regards
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S
1 review
“Charming barn conversion, lots of room and a quiet location. Great place for a family stay!”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a wonderful time at the Donkey Barn. Cottage feel with rustic exposed beams, stone fire place in living room, great decor with lots of atmosphere. Spacious for our family and friends to stay. A park just outside and horses and goats, our extended family and friends loved visiting.
Kim was very helpful and friendly, would highly recommend a stay here!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
Thanks for such a lovely review ! So glad you enjoyed your stay in the Donkey Barn and we hope we can welcome you back again one day. And thank you too for leaving the barn so tidy and clean - its really appreciated.
Kind regards
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
Hello
You are so very welcome - hope you can bring lots of spring sunshine !
See you soon.
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joan R
2 reviews
“Family weekend”
Reviewed 23 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Good location...barn converted to reasonable standard.....well equipped....bathrooms nice, good showers.....bit disappointed as "hot tub" was in fact an inflatable lazy spa....beds not really comfortable. ..sofa bed leg broke and we had to support with books....do buble bed poorly repaired with cable ties hence really sqeaky and uncomfortable. ...twin beds just acceptable but not very comfortable...childrens bunks were fine....owners were made aware of these issues during stay and made every effort to find solutions.....however we did have a lovely weekend thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
Hello Joan
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Donkey Barn - which we were fully expecting following your stay with us.We are not at all surprised that you only gave us 3 stars as you did sadly seem to be unhappy with so many aspects of your stay. Your main criticism is with the beds but I think it must be mentioned here that you did in fact apologise to us privately that your husband "is hyper-sensitive" ( your words not mine) due to a medical condition and NONE of the beds at all were comfortable for him. As the beds in Donkey Barn have metal frames, we showed you the beds in our other property Goat Barn, which are wood, and may be quieter and offered you to sleep in that barn but you chose not to. ( a larger & more expensive property too)
We accept that the king size bed was temporarily fixed and did explain to you that a previous family had lively children who had likely jumped on the bed and broken the lats and we had only discovered this before your arrival for which we apologised and offered Goat Barn.
The sofa bed leg did break during your stay but we did not deduct any damage deposit from you - the sofa bed is less than one year old and from Ikea so we were surprised that this happened already.
Re the hot tub - you also complained that it was not working but Allan on investigation said it had been accidentally switched off by one of your group after use. Your husband had earlier complained to Allan that he personally could not use it due to his medical condition but as stated in our terms the hot tub must be paid for regardless of whether used or not if booked prior to your visit.
We are sorry that you did not find everything satisfactory during your stay in Donkey Barn and will take on board your comments re the use of the term "hot tub" and make this clearer on our listing.The king size bed and the sofa bed have both been repaired and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
It is unfortunate that your birthday celebrations were dampened by the above issues and we can only apologise for this but we did offer you an alternative in Goat Barn but you chose not to take this,as owners there was little more we could do. Sadly we did try to make your weekend celebrations special by giving you wine,flowers and a personal birthday card for your arrival but we note this gesture was neither mentioned nor it seems appreciated. As they say ,"You can't win 'em all."
Kind regards
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2018
Thanks for a lovely review. You were very brave venturing into the hot tub in the snow !! See you again soon.
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing