We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Donkey Barn

Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove Comfy recliner sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove
Comfy recliner sofas
Large & light kitchen area
Front of Donkey Barn
Private and secluded garden area,perfect for children and dogs.
Twin bedroom
Kids bunk beds next to ensuite.
Kids play area can be accessed from double bed room & twin bed room
Children's play garden shared with two holiday lets. Some equipment removed due to H&S
Two tawny owls in care at The Sanctuary - however cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
Jess the barn owl in care at The Sanctuary (not on permanent view)
Rescued ponies & goats to feed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulH76
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our second stay at the Sanctuary with our extended family (we'd stayed in the larger property previously). Property fully met our expectations: clean, well-equipped and the owners did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Location was ideal to explore the Northumberland coast. Highly recommended...we will definitely be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and large kitchen / living area.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gem340
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family fun”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a long weekend at the donkey barn on arrival there were sweets for the kids, wine for the adults and ginger biscuits for the animals!! The barn is fully equipped with everything even emergancy toiletries if u forget in the rush!and the log fire is fantastic for cosy evenings in!Our 4 children aged 1-10 loved this place weather it be playing in the garden (which is the play area)going to feed the animal and just enjoying being out doors with a little freedom.we will definitely be visiting again, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Thank you to Kim and Alan.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Thank you ! We're so glad you and the children enjoyed yourselves and thank you too for leaving the barn so clean and tidy! You are welcome back anytime !
Kind regards
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent half term break with family aged from14 to 75 enjoyed by all.”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely warm welcome from Kim and Allan when we arrived, and the gifts of sweets for the children and chocolate and wine for the adults,and not forgetting the ginger biscuits for the animals, was a nice touch. Also the birthday card from Kim, Allan and the animals,was much appreciated. The donkey barn has everything that you need and more, lovely and warm and as our party was 6 adults and two teenagers it was great that there was two bathrooms.
We all loved the animals,the donkeys, horses,pony,goats,rabbits,owls,hens,and the shy fox.
We loved the fluffy hens which were just outside our door.

We went to Cresswell Beach and enjoyed walking on the beach, and a evening in Morpeth.
A great base to explore the area,and a lovely barn to return to.

Thank you both for being so helpful.

John Anne and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Hello
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your stay with us and we are glad you all had a great time in Donkey Barn. Hope to see you all again in the future.
Kind regards
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlieha...
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just returned from a 2 night stay with family and had a wonderful time. The Barn is decorated and maintained to a very high standard with excellent facilities and quality furnishings. Bedrooms are lovely with comfy beds and beautiful bedding and accessories.
The childrens play park is brilliant and even the cold weather did not stop the children having fun {Nana too}. It was so lovely to see all the animals lovingly looked after by the owners and to see the excitement on the childrens faces to be staying in a barn and being surrounded by goats, chickens, pony's, donkeys and all kinds of wildlife.
2 nights was not long enough at this wonderful place, hope to stay longer next time.
Thank You Kim and Alan for the lovely welcome pack and making our stay so relaxing and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loads of space
Liked least: only staying 2 nights
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Hello

Thank you for your lovely comments! We are so glad that you had a great time - especially in this awful cold & windy weather ! Hope to welcome you back perhaps when the sun shines!
Kind regards.
Kim& Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretD...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our family,five adults and two children,stayed at the Donket Barn for New Year 2014.
We were very pleasantly surprised to find a real Christmas tree,and the whole barn beautifully decorated for the festive season.We were also greeted with a card from the owners,wine for the grown ups,chocolate for the girls,and ginger biscuits for the donkeys,although,our daughters dog had his eye on them!
The barn is exactly as you see in the photographs.Extremely comfortable,and warm,with the optional extra of a wood burning stove.Wood for the fire is available at £8:00 per basket,and more can be ordered from the owners,Kim and Allan,who were lovely.
The Donkey Barn has everything you could want,it is stylishly appointed,and with two bathrooms,just what we needed with one of our grand daughters being a fashion concious teenager!!
Not far from the A1,we were out most of the time spending a lot of time exploring the beautiful Northumbrian country side,villages,and,of course,castles.
The Donkey barn is situated within a wildlife sanctuary,which we found delightful,so nice for us city dwellers to wake up to the sound of a rooster,and to see close up some amazing birds.
The stars of the show are of course,the donkeys and goats.The donkeys are kept in the stables during the cold winter months,but Allan,very kindly allowed our grand daughters to visit them "at home"
I would highly recommend The Donkey Barn to anyone wanting a place to get away from it all type of break.Beautifully rural,but with all the comforts of home.
Thank you once again Kim and Allan for a great New Year break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Hello

Thank you for your super review, it's really appreciated! We're glad you like the real Christmas tree - Christmas wouldn't be the same without one !
Glad the children enjoyed meeting some of ponies & donkeys in their winter stables - despite the mud !
We hope to see you here again one day.
Kind regards,
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing