We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time had by all”
other travellers have booked this property
the seaward side of the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the seaward side of the cottage.
the seaward side of the cottage the front of the cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
the seaward side of the cottage.
the seaward side of the cottage
the front of the cottage.
comfy sitting room   0riginal oak beams   inglenook fireplace   wood burning stove..
Master bedroom.
luxury guest room.
The breakfast/sun room.relax at leasure with a stunning sea view all your own..
dining area.
cottage style kitchen with hot water supply via combi.
split level kitchen to breakfast room
patio aria with fantastic sea view.
relax on the patio
bbq courtyard and utility room.
.
low tide from the terrace
overlooking miles of beach
the angry sea
cocktails anyone?
or a refreshing cuppa
views to die for
with the cup that cheers
.
a dramatic dawn
ever changing
always unique
and amazing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne3153
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is in an amazing position with a beautiful, ever changing, view over the sea and bay. The cottage is very quirky and has everything you can think of and more. We used the leaflets in the cottage to plan our visits and definitely need to go back to Creswell to see some of the places we couldn't fit in. We were lucky to have had some of the best days they had had this year so my granddaughter could take full advantage of the beach, building sandcastles and body boarding. The table and chairs on the cliff top at the end of the garden were well used, the perfect place to eat and have a glass of wine. A couple of nights it went chilly so the log burner in the lounge warmed us all up. Steak night on Tuesday's at The Plough are not too be missed 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price. Donald, his lovely Wife and Grandson gave us a great welcome and told us to contact him if we needed anything but we had everything we wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanons
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Singular experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

First of all: Donald is the perfect host. Friendly, fast and competent. We had wonderful 9 Nights in Cresswell. The house is one of a kind. Warm and friendly. For a family of three with dogs it was spacious. Wery near the beach and perfect for exploring northumberland. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowandcal...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was not what we expected. Needed alot of updating and cleanliness wasn't great. On the positive side we had a very warm welcome and the upstairs was pleasant with clean bedding.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Good to host a very likable family. The positives in your brief review are appreciated.The weather was awfull for your stay, sunshine always improves the experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard k
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, fantastic value!”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed from September 12, to September 15. Cottage isn't fancy, but warm, cozy, characterful and just hugely good value. The sea is in your back garden almost, and at 207 for three nights all in, what more could you ask for? We all just loved Northumberland, and coming back at night to a warn home, and soft cozy beds was just amazing. Donald 's personal welcome and the contribution of a first day's breakfast are touches that make the difference. I was slightly heartbroken to post the keys through the letterbox as we left today. Homely, scenic and, from our perspective, just idyllic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views of sea, warm and cozy
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickj856
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely short break”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Donald for the lovely welcome, the bread, milk, cereal and eggs were a lovely touch. The cottage is really quirky so if you like modern properties then this is not one for you! We found the cottage to be warm and comfortable and the quiet peaceful setting is just perfect for a total relaxing break. We were very lucky weather wise which enhanced the holiday even more, The Plough pub just up the road does a lovely meal selection, we went on "steak night Tuesday" which is a free pudding with every steak! The Farm shop at nearby Widdrington offers the most gorgeous meals, I would highly recommend them. We did manage to receive text messages whilst at the cottage so not totally cut off. All in all we had a lovely short break, the neighbours are friendly and the setting is perfect. Thank you Donald, we hope to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea views
Liked least: The downstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing