We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to get away from it all”

Review of Beacon Hill Farm

Quarry House drawing room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quarry House drawing room
Beech Cottage A view to the south from the cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Quarry House drawing room
Beech Cottage
A view to the south from the cottages
A king size bed an ensuite bathroom
A spacious en suite - one of two in the cottage
A fabulous Spa a walk away from your cottage through the gardens
The Jacuzzi with a view!
Meg's Lake - set in a 20 acre nature reserve on our 360 acre estate
A sunny bedroom with a 50 mile southern view
Quarry House.
A double bedroom with superb countryside views
A typical twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Wuffx13
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed here on a wet January weekend as a 50th birthday treat with a group of girl friends. The cottage was exceptional; warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean, also huge and plenty of room for 5 middle aged ladies and some to spare! The rain didn't matter as we spent the day in the spa area, using the swimming pool and the amenities and in the cottage itself which has a collection of books that would suit anyone's tastes.
The cottages are well spaced out and situated in beautiful grounds. As well as the swimming pool, (where you can help yourself to a cup of tea), there's a well equipped gym, a tennis court and lots of things for children young and old to do.
A very relaxing experience in a friendly environment, Alun the owner is very helpful and welcoming. This is a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of furnishings and cleanliness.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I can't praise Alun enough for his excellent welcome and commitment to service.
Facilities are good. Our children made some friends and we rarely saw them.
The camp fire in the woods is great fun for kids and adults.

There is lots to do in the area

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Wonderful setting, rural yet accessible to good shopping and eating venues alike. Comfy beds and cosy cottages. Great facilities on site esp pool and spa facilities. Loads to do on site, our children esp enjoyed trampoline, games room and pool. I loved the open fires and woodland walks close by and not too far afield coastal walks. Managed to use gym a couple of times but couldn't suss out how to use music system! Will go again definitely out of season when it's more affordable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire and solitude
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkmdurham
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage and Facilities”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in South Granary cottage. As soon as we arrived Alun, the owner, showed us round the entire area pointing out various walks and all the facilities. We knew then that it was going to be a good holiday. We were 4 adults and 3 children all under five, the youngest 8 weeks. There was certainly enough for all of us to keep us busy - the pool and spa (the hot beds and the Jacuzzi were favourite with the adults) the games room and the indoor adventure area were favourites with the children and fly fishing on the private Meg's Lake, 5 minutes away, for my husband and son in law was used a few times. The walks and the scenery around the area are to die for! There is even a beauty salon on site where you can have a pamper day or just a massage and your nails done, which my daughter and I did. Alun and the staff there were very, very friendly - highly recommended. The cottage itself was well furnished and everything was clean with enough books to keep you going all year/s! Everything we required was in the cottage and we didn't want for anything. Alun and his team were very friendly and help was at hand if it was required. We have stayed in cottages in Northumberland about a half dozen times in the last few years and this was the best so far and we would certainly recommend it to anybody and we will certainly be booking again in the future. Kathryn and Myles - Darlington

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: On site facilities spa, pool etc
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurelie...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another Super Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our 4th visit to Beacon Hill (2nd this year). Oak Cottage was as good as ever. The heating and hot water are really good since Alun put in the bio mass boiler - definitely a plus point for the property. I can highly recommend these holiday homes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from our cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing