We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly”
Review of Dyke Neuk Inn Ltd

Dyke Neuk Inn Ltd
Ranked #41 of 114 Restaurants in Morpeth
Price range: USD 4 - USD 28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Public House, Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast.
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Visited yesterday, we had our Great Dane (belonging to a family member), with us.
Made welcome and ordered our meals, the rib eye steak was not available but switched to serloin, also ordered lasagna and cod. All very good, only slight comment is that steak came with chips, one mushroom, tomato. My husband was disappointed in that no peas or coleslaw, but it was tender. Staff, friendly and dog lovers. Probably call if in area again though.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We visited the Dyke Neuk as part of a walk we did from the book 'adventurous pub walks in Northumberland ' Stuart Miller (countryside books). Although visiting the pub took us off the stated walk for a mile (1/2 mile each way) and we were 6 miles in, it was well worth the detour. The bar server was really friendly and the pub (although a little worn) was comfortable. The chicken and sweet corn soup was probably the best we've ever had and the mince and dumplings required you to have walked at least 6 miles to prepare for the carb and protein hit, very 'substantial '. If it wouldn't have been for the frozen baguette with the fish fingers this place would've got a 5. As there are no halves, sadly it's a 4. We'll certainly be back.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank MJEdenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Booked a table for Sunday lunch and the restaurant area was closed. We were given the choice between two very small, unset tables in the bar area which was dark and dingy.

Service was shocking. Told the menu was in the wall, and to order at the bar. Cutlery and other tableware was on another table and you had to help yourself.

We didn't bother and left. The meals that the six customers were eating looked appalling as well.

Go somewhere else.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Arrived here with 2 dogs to find they were allowed in the bar - full marks for that! Our surroundings were in great need of updating and they were not even clean with cobwebs across every window corner - awful. Ordered food and it came after a long wait. The French Onion soup was enjoyed very much, the broccoli and Stilton soup tasted fine but was very watery. The menu said that the soup was served with warm crusty bread - really? Mine was served with one slice of white bread, cut into 4 pieces which had been warmed in the oven and dried out! Never been served that before with soup and wouldn't want it again thanks. The friend with the tuna melt bagutte also enjoyed hers but the baguette was quite hard. Reasonable prices.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarbaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We are staying nearby & this is the nearest pub so we thought we would save ourselves the bother of cooking & try it out. Went with low expectations considering recent reviews but we enjoyed our steak & ale pies. Portions were plentiful although the various parts of the dinner were served in silly little pots, a pet hate of mine. If I am being a bit critical the pie was a bit salty but no more so than most pies I have when I eat out. All our plates went back empty so that is probably the best compliment I could pay.

This isn't gourmet dining so manage your expectations before coming and you will be pleasantly surprised

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank W0rthingWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dyke Neuk Inn Ltd also viewed

Longframlington, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Dyke Neuk Inn Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing