We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sally's Cottage

Garden and View of Sally's
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and View of Sally's
Spacious living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Garden and View of Sally's
Spacious living room
Family bathroom, with shower
King size bed in a king size room
Another large bedroom
Flight of ducks - could they be Cuddy's ducks coming home?
Fantastic kitchen
Fresh food locally
A sheltered spot in our garden
Entrance gate to Sally's garden
St. Aidan statue, near the Priory
Rainbow arch, Lindisfarne Priory
Tide coming across causeway, don't worry, the refuge box is just on the bridge
Thrift during May, on the Causeway of Holy Island
Lindisfarne Castle
Vikings capturing Pilgrims Team
Vikings enjoying a cup of Pilgrims coffee after a hard days raiding
Looking from the harbour to the Castle by Neil Denham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holy Island, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
atchys101
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

welcomed by owner on arrival.the cottage was lovely. in a great position in the village.everything we needed for our short stay. nice welcome pack included scones cakes fudge & wine.beds were very comfortable. would recommend and hope to return one day.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
I'm glad the wine and beds were comfortable :-) We look forward to welcoming you back. Neil and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BREATHTAKING - A Gem of an Island & Cottage - Just Beautiful ...........................”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have wanted to visit 'Holy Island' Lindisfarne for awhile and we were not disappointed. From the minute we arrived we felt a sense of calmness and tranquility it is absolutely stunning.
We stayed at Sally's Cottage which was like home from home, it is immaculately clean and has every amenity that you could ever need and very comfortable. Karen also exceeded our expectations on hospitality as she knew that I had booked this as a special trip.
This is a must consideration if you are planning a trip to Lindisfarne you really won't be disappointed it is most definitely a 10 out of 10 from us both.
Thank You for a wonderful stay .......................................................................................

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thank you for your very kind review, it was great to meet you both. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M
Thirsk, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My second home”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Another weekend stay at Sally's Cottage. Once again a super relaxed time in a fantastic cottage, so very sad to leave but I will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robsonmcc...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed for four nights during November. Sally's Cottage is really clean well equipped and very comfortable. Would recommend to anyone. Met the owner as we arrived and then left to enjoy our break. Beds are really comfy, radios in the rooms and a lovely sitting room with TV and DVD player and free WiFi Grandchildren stayed over and everyone really enjoyed the mini holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your review, it's greatly appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Away from it all at Sally's Cottage”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Sally's cottage is a quiet haven in the centre of the village on Holy Island. A very old building, full of character with lovely features and beautifully spacious accommodation. Well equipped with a mixture of character and modern furnishings. Very cosy and the feeling that you are 'away from it all' yet very convenient for the pubs and shops in the village. Welcome pack of homemade bread, scones and Wine is a lovely thoughtful touch. Very comfortable bed giving a lovely night's sleep. We have stayed on the wonderful Holy Island many times and rate Sally's as one of the best we have stayed in. Very quiet and just downstairs to Pilgrims Coffee House, wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely comfortable bed and sofa
Liked least: Steps up to the kitchen area for unloading
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
I'm glad you had a lovely time on the Island. Our aim is to offer a clean, warm cottage, with lots of treats and super comfy beds for a relaxing break - thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing