We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top cottage to celebrate our Silver Wedding...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Backhill Bothy

View from the Bothy deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Bothy deck
Bothy wing before conversion, the other 3 wings and courtyard form the owner's house the Bothy with its raised sun deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View from the Bothy deck
Bothy wing before conversion, the other 3 wings and courtyard form the owner's house
the Bothy with its raised sun deck
Lounge area in daylight
Lounge area in the evening
There is plenty of space!
Kitchen in daylight
Kitchen in the evening
Why not invite friends to supper?
View for the dishwasher!
Bedroom can be either twin beds or 1 superking double
Bedroom
Shower room with walk-in deluge shower and demister mirror
Garden room
View out from Garden room
View out from Garden room towards Holy Island
Autumn view from deck towards Cocklawburn beach
Autumn view from deck
All you need for a picnic, just provide your own food and wine!
Double dog kennel adjacent to Bothy for exclusive use of your dogs
Our nearest beach at Cocklawburn looking towards Berwick
Our nearest beach at Cocklawburn looking towards Holy Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top cottage to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The best cottage we have ever stayed in ! And we have stayed in many over the last 30 years
The Bothy was very spacious and we enjoyed sitting on the decking in very comfortable deck chairs .
The kitchen was superbly equipped with all the utensils you would need
And the picnic hamper was a added bonus
The views are stunning and it is so peaceful as well
It is very close to all places we wanted to visit .
We even drove to Scotland
We will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The enormous shower and super king bed
Liked least: Leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
What a fantastic review - thank you so much. Glad the weather was good enough to use the deck chairs! Don't wait for your next big anniversary before coming back to see us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel A
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Backhill Bothy gave us an excellent holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thanks to Trish and John for providing a very comfortable, spacious, peaceful and well equipped holiday cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is just as good, if not better, than the photos. The garden room is a comfortable space for relaxing with stunning views of the countryside and coastline. There is lots to see and do in the area.
Thanks again
Karen and Nigel from Essex

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate D
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

had a great stay. lovely welcome. beautiful accommodation. not to be faulted, photos do not do it justice. we will be back

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriett...
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful accommodation, not to be faulted. The photos do not do it justice. Lovely welcome from the owners. Immaculate place with stunning views. Had a wonderful time. Thank you we will definatley be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
... and we will definitely look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JarrarPee...
Peeblesshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of everything”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Backhill Bothy for a special celebration and it more than lived up to expectations. The hosts have thought of everything and more. It was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. The location is perfect for exploring this beautiful area we just wished we could have stayed longer. The bonus is being able to take your dog. The hosts are so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. We have recommended it to many of our friends and cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
We are so pleased your special celebration went well and would be delighted to welcome you back again, when hopefully you can enjoy a longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing