We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Break with all the family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old School

The Old School. Beautiful and spacious in a tranquil location. No rush hour here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School. Beautiful and spacious in a tranquil location. No rush hour here!
Beautiful newly landscaped garden. Fully enclosed and safe for children so adults can chill out! Very Spacious and Well Equipped Oak Fitted Dining Kitchen. Seats 10 People.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Old School. Beautiful and spacious in a tranquil location. No rush hour here!
Beautiful newly landscaped garden. Fully enclosed and safe for children so adults can chill out!
Very Spacious and Well Equipped Oak Fitted Dining Kitchen. Seats 10 People.
Beautiful and Spacious Open Plan Lounge. Seats 10 People. Bose System, TV, WIFI and DVD.
Spacious Open Plan Dining Room with Cocktail Cabinet, Candles and Napkins.
Open Plan Lounge with Huge Windows and Original Wood Panelling.
Teaching the Bear Essentials in Bear Corner with Toys, Books and Games Provided.
Bedroom 1: The Luxurious Ballet Room with En Suite Bathroom, Seating Areas and 5 Windows.
Bedroom 2: The Red Room. Spacious with Oak Furniture, Sitting Area and Floor to Ceiling Windows.
Bedroom 2: The Red Room. Spacious with Oak Furniture, Sitting Area and Floor to Ceiling Windows.
Bedroom 3: The Twin Room. Lots of Light From 2 Velux Windows.
Spacious Family Bathroom with Double Drench Shower and Roll Top Bath.
Spacious Family Bathroom. Shampoo, Conditioner, Shower Gel and Soap in Complimentary Dispensers.
The Self Contained Flat/Bedroom 4: With En Suite Bathroom, Sitting Area with Sofa Bed, TV and Stereo
Bedroom 4: Spacious and Luxurious Within Self Contained Flat with En Suite Bathroom and Sofa Bed.
Spacious Sitting Area with Sofa Bed Within Self Contained Flat.
Dining Room Set For Dinner. Napkins, Candles and a Range of Glassware and Crockery Provided.
Afternoon Tea in the Spacious Kitchen. Breadmaker, Wine Fridge and Coffee Makers are Added Luxuries
Front Courtyard: Great for Watching the World Go By!!!
The Old School Lane. A Peaceful, Rural Setting Close to Local Beaches & Berwick Upon Tweed.
Rush Hour at The Old School !!!!
Nearby St Abbs Harbour. Famous diving site. Great cafe, crab sandwiches lovely!
Holy Island Abbey - a must see. Only 20 minutes drive from The Old School.
We Hope To Welcome You To The Old School Soon.
Enjoying Xmas at the Old School
Spacious dining room.
White Xmas at the Old School
Xmas at the Old School
Spacious bathroom with roll top bath.
Double drench shower and roll top bath.
Berwick Upon Tweed.
Berwick Upon Tweed by night.
Spacious and well equipped oak kitchen.
Spacious lounge with TV, DVD, Bose Music System, books, games and toys.
Lounge with seating for 10 people.
Teacher bear in bear corner.
Rush hour at the Old School!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Organic farms nearby.
Beautiful nearby coastal St Abbs.
Local farms and their residents.
White Xmas at the Old School.
Time to watch the world go by.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TandSLeed...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break with all the family”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a great week at the Old School with 4 generations of the family enjoying the excellent facilities and spacious accommodation. 10 minutes drive from Berwick and Spittal with many other attractions less than 1 hour away making this a good base to enjoy the area.
Booking and contact with Helen was simple and all arrangements and touches such as welcome pack made the difference.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It's great that 4 generations of your family were able to spend time at our spacious property. We hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek L
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy Old School Days”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A top quality, spacious and excellently provisioned property away from the madding crowd but within easy reach of main routes.
All rooms are beautifully furnished and everything necessary is provided including a very generous welcome pack.
Any small problem was dealt with immediately by the owner within the same day.
A perfect base for exploring the the many tourist attractions situated within the Borders and along the North Sea coast.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for your great review. It's lovely to hear you found our house to be "top quality". It makes all our hard work worthwhile. We hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Dec 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments which we appreciate. We are so glad that bear corner was a hit with your 3 year old. It was also good to know that the spacious lounge allowed you all to sit together and that you found the property to be luxurious and well equipped :-) We are also glad that we were able to handle the booking process and queries to your satisfaction. You would be welcome again anytime on a return visit. Kindest regards Helen and Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Welcoming guests for a second visit is really exiting for us as it tells us we must be getting it right if people want to return. Feedback like yours makes all our hard work so worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gail M
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Family Holiday”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have had a wonderful family holiday at The Old School. The accommodation was 1st class with all our needs catered for. The house has a very spacious lounge and the kitchen has every appliance needed. There are many lovely places to visit and the beaches are within easy reach. This is a holiday home to remember and certainly to return to again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We enjoyed every minute of our stay
Liked least: We cannot find any faults with this holiday home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you had an excellent family holiday and found the accommodation to be "first class". It is such great feedback that makes all our efforts worthwhile. We hope to welcome you again sometime soon. Kindest regards. Helen and Andrew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing