We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

The Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bothy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Bothy
Well equipped kitchen
Northumberland Puffins
The Bothy used to be an old cinema
Patio area and views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Beadnell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
simonpoll...
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I had a lovely stay at the Bothy. We were delighted to find a home made coffee and walnut cake and a bottle of wine to welcome us! There are beautiful views out of the French doors at the back and a good internet speed! The house itself is well presented and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Hi Simon, thank you for your review about The Bothy, it was great to see you all again this year and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy E
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Clean, homely, wonderful open views over the fields and ever-changing big skies. All mod-cons you could need on holiday. We took our bikes and there is an out-building/utility room where they could be kept when not in use. Some of the roads were quite busy and fast this time of year for cycling but the back roads were great. Really good location for exploring the Northumberland Coast from Holy Island down to Alnwick. The holiday cottage proprietor Sam is lovely and very helpful. We would definitely come back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Hi Andy, it was lovely to meet you and your family last week and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have just printed out a map which was in a national magazine which shows that Shepherds cottage and the Bothy are on a cycle route. Pleased that you got out on your bikes throughout the week. I appreciated your feedback about the facilities and the new bowls are purchased:), thank you. Hope to see you all again sometime

sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy04
west yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Bothy was a great place to stay in Northumberland. Lovely back garden and patio overlooking fields with distant sea views, great for sitting out or having a BBQ. Comfortable bedrooms and cosy sitting room .Village a very short drive away and Seahouses and Bamburgh Castle within easy each.

Owner very easy to contact and cake and wine on arrival a nice touch. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Hi Thank you so much for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the cottage, cake and wine and that you got to visit some of the wonderful places along the coastline. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place, just as described and just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Welcome gifts on arrival (wine, cake, milk in the fridge) and a perfect cottage. Had a fantastic long easter weekend stay, location and facilities were great. Only comment - this just a suggestion for the owners, not a grumble - the kitchen would benefit from a larger saucepan! Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
HI thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the cake and wine. Thanks for letting me know about the saucepan, we will get a larger one sorted out. Hope you stay again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H
Ryton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My daughter rented the The Bothy for our 70th birthday celebrations. We were a party of two (us), my daughter Kathryn , grandson Jamie and not forgetting a mad springer Olly.

Sam greeted us warmly and were made to feel very welcome. Accommodation is more than you would expect for a holiday let. Wi fi, TV, plenty of board games, binoculars and well furnished accommodation etc.
Plenty of things to do near by and close to the best beaches, castles and market towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience, very relaxing.
Liked least: No negatives.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Hi Cheryl, thank you so much for your kind review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Northumberland and that the cottage had everything you needed, we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing