We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location & holiday home.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Moorings.

Dolphins off Beadnell bay Can been seen from Lounge , if you're lucky!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dolphins off Beadnell bay Can been seen from Lounge , if you're lucky!!
Open plan Lounge with Superb Sea Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Dolphins off Beadnell bay Can been seen from Lounge , if you're lucky!!
Open plan Lounge with Superb Sea Views
Lounge with cosy open fire
Beadnell Bay, only 2 minutes walk
Kitchen Diner
Spacious well equipped Kitchen
Beadnell Beach
Dog Friendly beach!
Conservatory ideal sunny room for relaxing
Conservatory with doors to Balcony
Beadnell Bay
Beadnell Harbour
Pool Table with seating and Patio doors to garden
View from Lounge
View from the lounge and kitchen
Enclosed back garden with picnic bench.
View from the house
Stunning Beach
Bunk room sleeps 4 children (connecting door to family room)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Beadnell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cpenningt...
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great location & holiday home. ”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We visited the Moorings in May 2015, for a week, as a family of 10 (one child age 12). This upside-down house has great characteristics, with the bedrooms downstairs and the kitchen and living room upstairs. Downstairs there were two rooms with double beds and another room with a double and single bed which also led onto a room with 2 bunk beds.
The kitchen and living room, upstairs, overlook the most stunning view - with large windows which look out onto the beach and sea. There was also a garden terrace to the back of the house which was always showered in sunshine!
Having said this, I feel that the house should be advertised to sleep around 9 - not the 11 people that it is currently advertised for. Whilst watching TV, there are not enough seats for everyone to sit down. We had to borrow chairs from the kitchen table in order for everyone to have a seat. Furthermore, the layout of the bedrooms downstairs could be utilised for space better - there is one bedroom with a double and single bed within it, which then leads onto another bedroom with double bunk beds in. This 'bunk room' is extremely small and it was hard enough to move around with two people staying in it, never mind 4 children! It is also unfortunate that you have to walk through someone else's bedroom to get to this. I feel that this ' bunk room' would be better to sleep two, or even better, converted into a toilet! This leads me on to the second point; there is a bathroom upstairs which is spacious and has a bath and incorporated shower. However, the bathroom downstairs is outside another persons bedroom which isn't great. Furthermore, the toilet area is so small that it is hard to shut the door. It would be beneficial if there was a larger bathroom downstairs - especially since the house caters for that many people. Some parts of the property are tired and in need of renewal - the plates should also be renewed as they are scratched.
Having said this, the property overall is in a great location and the views make it worth the while. With an update, this house would be spectacular. Beadnell itself is a great location with beaches on the door step. Towns are nearby and there are a lot of places to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for writing a review. Im sorry you were unhappy with some aspects of the house so I just thought I could give you some answers to the points you raised. I advertise up to 11 people as often I get 2 families holidaying together, but I also get families of 4-8 such as yourself and not every room is needed. I do mention that the bunkroom is only suitable for children, and for all it is small the kids seem to love it! The seating in the lounge is adequate, but seats/sittee from the the conservatory can be brought in, as I don't want to over crowd the lounge, again this is on the information as I do try to let guests know the set up before they book. The downstairs shower/wc is really an en suite situation and I am looking into moving the wc to make it a large space, but this is proving to be extremely expensive. The plates are renewed as and when needed such as chips occur etc and usually a new set every 2 years, but with catering for so many people scratches are expected and unavoidable. Im sorry you feel some areas look 'tired' as the whole of the downstairs (which was tired) was redecorated in January 2015. I hope this explains some of the issues you raised . Thank you once again for booking your holiday and hope you would consider booking The Moorings again should you wish to holiday in Beadnell again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful week in a stunning location”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful week in a beautiful part of the country that was new to us. The whole family were able to join us and the house was perfect. There was everything we could possibly need especially for small children safety gates, high chairs, travel cots and even a baby carrier! When we arrived we were blown away by the view and the sight of the wine on the table was an added bonus! The house was spotless and very roomy, there were 8 adults and a toddler in our party and lots of space to relax in. The conservatory was a great place to have a little quiet time and catch some sun.
We had mixed weather but it didn't spoil our experience as you could spend ages looking out on the bay we spotted seals and a dolphin one evening. Everyone enjoyed the lovely beach and there are plenty of walks to do.
We did on line delivery for our food when we arrived as the bigger shops are in the next village. As a big group the two fridges in the kitchen was very useful.
I would recommend trips to Alnwick and Holy Island and you can check the tide times for safe crossings at Seahouses. I am sitting here trying to think of any negatives about this holiday and even if I was very picky I would struggle to find some. Thank you to Jayne for providing all the information we needed and for letting us stay in your lovely house I am sure we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jos M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic location - right on the shore with superb sea views & only a few minutes walk from the beach. The living accommodation in this upside-down house is spacious & flexible. We also enjoyed the use of Wi-fi, TV & snooker table. From our perspective the only downside was that the bunk room is accessed through another bed room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wjl1608
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Class, Fantastic Large Family Cottage with superb views”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

First class cottage and location. We knew the location was good before we booked but did not expect the cottage to be so spacious and equipped with everything you need. We had a fantastic time and with 10 of us staying here did not feel we were tripping over each other. The living/dining/kitchen area is just superb and the bedrooms are a good size with plenty of cupboard/drawer space. The free WiFi was a great bonus for the children and adults as we took our own laptop so could watch the Ryder Cup on our SkyGo account on the TV in the sitting room.

If there was one thing which could improve the cottage it would be for another shower-room to be added, because we had 10 of us staying and there were only 2 showers it took a bit of time to get ready to go out at night.

I called the owners on our return to say what a great time we had because we were so pleased with choosing this for our family get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious it was and the location was superb
Liked least: Would have been handy to have another shower (there are 2 but another one would have been handy)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Hi, thank you for your your kind review and comments for The Moorings. It was really nice of you to personnally ring me to say how much you had enjoyed your stay.

I agree that another shower would be great. I have, in the past, looked at this option and the only way to add one is to make a shower room where the utility room is, but after much considersation keeping the utility room is a better option as it allows guests to take their dogs. I hope it did not delay your evening too much.

Thank you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the upstairs views
Liked least: Downstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing