We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent,spacious family holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Nest

Swallows Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows Nest
Dining room Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Swallows Nest
Dining room
Living area
Living area
living area
Big bedroom upstairs
Dining room
Double bedroom
Big bedroom upstairs
kitchen
Ground floor bedroom
kitchen
nearby Dunstanburgh castle
5 minute walk away
Bamburgh village
walks for miles
surfers
fishing fun
Cragside country house a lovely place to visit
Holy Island just a short drive away
Hadrians wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nidge1965
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent,spacious family holiday home”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was a perfect place to stay on our family trip to Northumberland.Party consisted on 2 grandparents 2 adults 1 teenager and 2 under 10 years of age. Bedrooms spacious and dining room / living room supplied enough space for all without being under each others feet.Nice welcome of Easter eggs (as we stayed during Easter Week) by owner.Easy walk to beach over sand dunes. Allowed for a very restful and stress free week. Hope to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and the space
Liked least: no issues
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem by the Sea”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We loved our stay in Swallow's Nest - what a delightful holiday cottage!
Beautifully designed with comfort and enjoyment the top priority.
Jo has thought of everything, from cosy sofas and a super range of dvd's for evening viewing, to dressing up boxes, children's books, puzzles, jigsaws... we loved everything about this gorgeous cottage!
Perfectly located near the castle and a hop, skip and jump to the delightful Bamburgh beach.
Weather was gorgeous, but had it rained there was plenty to do inside (WIFI was brill).
This cottage is so homely, we didn't want to leave! The thoughtful touches (flowers and cake) were an added bonus - thank you so much Jo and Andrew.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful family friendly home”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent a fantastic 3 nights here with my partner, mum and dad, my sister and her 2 children (2yrs and 5 months) and this lovely house had everything we needed. Beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, I couldn't fault a thing. Loads of toys/books to keep my niece amused and lovely decking area for us to use at back of house.Nice quiet area so perfect for kids to play but only 5 mins walk across dunes to beach and 10 mins walk into Bamburgh. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoek2002
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, ideal location, perfectly thought out.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Rarely does a holiday house surpass its photos/description but Swallows Nest is ideal. We have 4 children from 3-9 and have been to some beautiful houses in beautiful places but this is probably the most 'mother friendly' house I have been to. Thanks so much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coatespl
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage by the Sea”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Loved the cottage and amenities. 5 min walk over the dunes to one of the best beaches I have ever seen. Also only half mile walk to Bamburgh Castle and village. Seahouses just 3 miles away for groceries and souveniers. Our favorite restaurant was The Mizen Head for the fresh local seafood. Thanks Jo for maintaining such a lovely cottage! Even had good weather, perfect family holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing