We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 66 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We visited for 2 nights in October 2011. Lovely welcome from Linda and Stephen, extremely clean room and very comfortable. The view of the castle is amazing and the breakfast was lovely. They had lots of information on the area and provided lots of reading materials if needed. Lots to do in the area hence we will be returning as we could not do everything. We will definitely be returning to this guest house as it has everything you need. Many thanks to Linda and Stephen for such attention to detail and for an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. We will be recommending you to friends and family xx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
81
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at the Castle View Guest House from the 4th September 2011 and completely endorse the favorable comments made by other reviewers about this guest house. Linda and Stephen made us very welcome, walking maps were readily provided and good advise given on where to eat and drink locally. The breakfast, using local ingredients was superb and our room overlooking Alnwick Castle, was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We crammed most of the sights in Northumberland in our 5 day stay and we would certainly look to stay at Castle View in future.

Room Tip: Both rooms overlook the castle walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolkboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

For those visiting Alnwick Castle, there's no better location since it's practically opposite the main entrance to the castle, and the town centre is only a 5 minute walk away. As the name implies, the windows look out towards the castle. It may be a little hard to spot at first, as the entrance is one of several doors opening directly onto the street. Also, one of the doors (the right-hand one as you face both doors) is a false one, so enter from the left door. Parking is available around the corner from the B&B; you will need a parking permit which is readily available from Linda and Stephen. The room we stayed in was nice and spacious, with thoughtful additions of little books of local tales and legends by the bedside. There is wifi and some decent channels on the TV. While the bed was pretty and the linen soft and comfortable, the mattress was a tad too soft. Standard, but good, full English breakfast is served, and the addition of a fruit salad makes for a satisfying start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1m0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Castle view is a quaint house full of character. The bedroom had a large brass framed bed and a pull out bed for our son it was full of traditional furniture and antique pottery along with a modern tv,and the decor was in keeping with the period of the house. The en suit was modern but with the traditional feeling. Steve and Linda were perfect hosts that made all 3 of us feel really welcome in their home the breakfast room was cosy and the traditional full english was worth getting up for. Castle view made our weekend away special with its location its owners steve and linda and with its character. We will be sure to stay again next year. Ali,Danny and Tom from Leeds

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alithecardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent two nights here (had gone to see Status Quo in the castle grounds) and could not have asked for better, just wish it had been longer. Linda & Steve are such a lovely couple and make you feel part of the family. The room was wonderful with lovely little touches to make it homely. It was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was yummy and beautifully cooked. The B & B is well sited for a visit to the Castle & Gardens without having to drive and a comfortable stroll into the Town Centre where there are plenty of eating places. Look forward to going back and staying here again. Once you have been to Castleview B & B you will not want to go elsewhere.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladyfazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.4 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
10.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
10.1 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.6 km away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#7 of 66 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 km away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1B Bailiffgate, Alnwick NE66 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing