We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
311
184
66
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
311
184
66
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel good size sunday carvery buffet breakfast flat screen tv rooms are spacious steak and ale pie family room early check evening meal play area light sleeper overnight stay double room excellent stay wedding party tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

This place rocks. The place was very busy but service was almost imnediate from a very friendly team member who was happy to make recommendations. He was also happy to request a change for me. Our cold beers arrived seconds after our order was taken. Our food order was repeared back to us. The food that arrived was fresh, delicious, piping hot and checked up on too.
With such delicious mains under our belts we felt it woulf ge rude to not have to loosen them to jake room for the indescribably delicious deserts

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for leaving this great review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and deserts!
We do hope to see you again soon to enjoy another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Good sized well fitted out bedroom for a no frills stay as long as you are OK checking in at the bar, both dog and family friendly.
Plenty of rooms on ground floor for those who do not like steps.
Well stocked bar and extensive pub grub menu - you need to be hungry for the regular Fish & Chips but they are well worth it. If you are around on Sundays their roasts are well worth it.
The staff work hard to please everyone covering all the hours - well done.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if needed.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Ah, thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed all your experiences with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed in a nice and big room and slept well. It was clean, the service was good but the hotel lacked charm and it was situated in an industrial area. What lowered the overall impression was the restaurant. I am also a bit annoyed that the choose, without asking me, to charge me in SEK instead of GBP which costed me unnecessary 6 pound in exchange costs. We had a scrimp and fries for dinner - not very tasty, and a buffet lunch that was OK.
In conclusion, the place is OK if you just want to sleep in a clean and comfortable room for a night

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Torbjörn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I have stayed here twice this summer both after lengthy walks on the beautiful Northumberland coastal path. The Hog's Head offers really good value for money and a hugely convenient location for exploring the area.
Check-in/check-out is brisk and friendly - there is a small check-in area within the restaurant and the door card offers secure access to the accommodation block. Both of the rooms I had were spacious, very clean, good free wifi, power shower. I slept well even though the hotel is adjacent to the A1. Free parking, and a Costa, Spa and McDonald's is within two minutes walk. Sainsbury's is also a ten minute stroll if you need it. All in all, a reliable place to stay of Premier Inn style - busy and popular with families which is usually a good sign in my book!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GBR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for leaving this review and for choosing to stay with us again!
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your experiences with us and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

This new, modern hotel is just off the A1, close to Alnwick and is a good base for exploring the local area. Although we had a window open every night we heard no road noise and despite this being a busy hotel and wedding venue (lots of young families and children!) we had three undisturbed nights' sleep.

The hotel is on what appears to be an industrial park but the grounds are pleasant and well laid-out with lots of space for (free) parking. We stayed for three nights and had a very pleasant and restful stay. Although a modern building the interior is attractive and comfortable.

Our room was large, clean, well equipped and well furnished. The towels were fresh, large and fluffy and were replaced after two days. The bed was large and extremely comfortable. We appreciated the tea, coffee and biscuits that were provided every day. Breakfasts were self-service and there were plenty of options. Staff were friendly and helpful.

I'm surprised at the comment in an earlier review that complained about the cost of this place. Prices here represent very good value for money given the quality of the accommodation and service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Ah, thank you for leaving this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews