We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal”
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Enjoyed a nice family meal - good food and good service. Clean and tidy with a very relaxed atmosphere. Did get busy but still enjoyed the ambience and the staff were very attentive. Food arrived in good time and portion size not too much but filling.

Room Tip: Did not book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for leaving this review, I am pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and we do hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

This place rocks. The place was very busy but service was almost imnediate from a very friendly team member who was happy to make recommendations. He was also happy to request a change for me. Our cold beers arrived seconds after our order was taken. Our food order was repeared back to us. The food that arrived was fresh, delicious, piping hot and checked up on too.
With such delicious mains under our belts we felt it woulf ge rude to not have to loosen them to jake room for the indescribably delicious deserts

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for leaving this great review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and deserts!
We do hope to see you again soon to enjoy another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Good sized well fitted out bedroom for a no frills stay as long as you are OK checking in at the bar, both dog and family friendly.
Plenty of rooms on ground floor for those who do not like steps.
Well stocked bar and extensive pub grub menu - you need to be hungry for the regular Fish & Chips but they are well worth it. If you are around on Sundays their roasts are well worth it.
The staff work hard to please everyone covering all the hours - well done.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Ah, thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed all your experiences with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed in a nice and big room and slept well. It was clean, the service was good but the hotel lacked charm and it was situated in an industrial area. What lowered the overall impression was the restaurant. I am also a bit annoyed that the choose, without asking me, to charge me in SEK instead of GBP which costed me unnecessary 6 pound in exchange costs. We had a scrimp and fries for dinner - not very tasty, and a buffet lunch that was OK.
In conclusion, the place is OK if you just want to sleep in a clean and comfortable room for a night

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank torbjornstjernberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I have stayed here twice this summer both after lengthy walks on the beautiful Northumberland coastal path. The Hog's Head offers really good value for money and a hugely convenient location for exploring the area.
Check-in/check-out is brisk and friendly - there is a small check-in area within the restaurant and the door card offers secure access to the accommodation block. Both of the rooms I had were spacious, very clean, good free wifi, power shower. I slept well even though the hotel is adjacent to the A1. Free parking, and a Costa, Spa and McDonald's is within two minutes walk. Sainsbury's is also a ten minute stroll if you need it. All in all, a reliable place to stay of Premier Inn style - busy and popular with families which is usually a good sign in my book!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GBR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for leaving this review and for choosing to stay with us again!
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your experiences with us and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.8 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,107 reviews
12.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,313 reviews
11.6 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
359 reviews
15.5 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
13.8 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: AU$172 - AU$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing