We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
311
184
66
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
311
184
66
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel good size sunday carvery buffet breakfast flat screen tv rooms are spacious steak and ale pie family room early check evening meal play area light sleeper overnight stay double room excellent stay wedding party tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stop for a light tea both had beef dip ciabatta just like to say it was absolutely lovely would recommend the hogs head for food to anyone. Definitely would come back again this time to try the steak and maybe stay over for the night

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for leaving this review!
I am delighted to hear you had a good time with us and yes the steak is very popular!
We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night and it was lovely. The room was clean with a big double bed, t.v, kettle with tea and coffee. A tressame hairdryer which worked great as most hotel hairdryers don't work to good. Restaurant food was great as were the staff. Free buffet breakfast was included with a great choice.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank missjm2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for leaving this review!
Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We stayed here for one night on route to a wedding. The room was large and very clean; fabulous nights sleep. The food in the bar was delicious, as was breakfast, which was included in the price. Staff were pleasant, professional and very friendly. Couldn't' fault this lovely place; would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LynneHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you very much for leaving this review!
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Spent 2 nights at the Hog's Head Inn. Very good, comfortable beds, big bedrooms and very clean. Bar food was good. It is a good 20 minute walk into town, but very manageable and streets well lit at night, so we felt safe. Would recommend the Inn - thanks for looking after us.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same - very clean and comfortable, with kettle etc provided
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for leaving this review,
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your very welcome, we do love to make our customers happy and comfortable.
We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Had a two night stay (19th and 20th May) which was a last minute booking after a few tough months. We wanted rest and relaxation and that is exactly what we got. Having crawled up the A1 on Friday after work we were met with a warm welcome and a smooth check in. The on site parking is plentiful and possibly the best facility I've ever encountered. Great not to have to worry about finding a space.
Straight away we felt welcomed by the friendly, efficient staff and our worries faded away. Our room (104) was clean and modern. Plenty of hanging space and drawers (open units so you can't leave anything behind!) and all mod cons. Ironing board was full size and new iron really efficient. En suite great- spacious modern shower and loads of big white towels. Flat screen tv nice- not essential but watched a show while we waited for our food to go down! Teabags, coffee and biscuits all high end and much appreciated by us. Room much bigger than regular hotel rooms- felt spacious. Only slight criticism of room was that without a proper ceiling light it was a bit dim at times- however there are proper reading lights by the bedsides so no need to worry.
The staff were exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful- each and every one of them. There was a lovely kids party on our second night which appeared very well catered for and the children really seemed to enjoy the great quality adventure playground. We sat in a quieter area of the lounge bar for a meal but the children were well behaved and had a lot of fun, so we'd have been happy to sit in that area too.
We enjoyed the food at each breakfast- all self service so low key and not pressurised. Having said that, there seemed to be some really rude older citizens at breakfast this morning. One lady reached across me while I was filling a teapot from the hot water urn, to grab a teabag (could she have waited with manners? Did I need her arm in my face?) in snatching the teabag she knocked a load more into the bin. She progressed to the toast making area and proceeded to select her bread with her fingers, ignoring the tongs provided.
We had two evening meals- on Friday we opted for delicious pizzas, chips and slaw plus a sharing chocolate sundae (huge and gorgeous but goodness we were full). On Saturday we each had chicken curry with rice and side of chips. All delicious, like the breakfasts.
The staff cannot do enough for you, if you ask or bring things to their attention. When we checked out a man was ranting rudely about his shower head spraying all over- the staff member enquired politely as to why he had not brought it to their attention before check out as they'd eaten evening meals and breakfasts there happily. Staff aren't psychic- give them chance!
Our stay and Bamburugh etc was just what we needed- I had 9 hours sleep last night, despite the proximity of the A1. Good food, good room and we are able to face our struggles again! Thank you hard working staff at The Hog's Head, you do your establishment and yourselves proud.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you so much for leaving this lovely review and for your kind words.
I am so pleased you felt happy and well rested after your visit with us, I will certainly pass on your comment's to the team - they are much appreciated.
We do hope too see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews