We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect holiday home in Alnwick”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mews Cottage

Mews cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mews cottage
Courtyard Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Mews cottage
Courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second double bedroom
Second double bedroom
Third single bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Dining area
Dining area alternative view
Courtyard
Courtyard in bloom
Courtyard in bloom
View of Alnwick Castle and surrounding pastures - 5 minutes walk from mews cottage
One of the many harbours in the area that you are likely to see
View of Craster Harbour - 8 miles from Mews cottage
View of Bamburgh Castle - 15 miles from Mews cottage
View of Dunstanburgh Castle from Embleton beach - 8 miles from Mews cottage
One of the many beach's to explore - Drurage Bay 15 miles from Mews cottage
Views taken in Northumberland National Park - 12 miles from Mews cottage
Views taken in Northumberland National Park
House on Cragside Estate near Rothbury - 12 miles from Mews cottage
View of Cragside Estate near Rothbury - 12 miles from Mews cottage
Lindisfarne Castle - 20 miles from Mews cottage
Lindisfarne Castle - 20 miles from Mews cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Reviewer6...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect holiday home in Alnwick”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Mews Cottage is the perfect base in Alnwick: centrally located, spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Plus the house has private parking, and the owner is exceptionally helpful. What more could you want? A definite ten out of ten.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Wow Mary.
Thank you for a great review, we very much appreciate it.
We look forward to see you again at Mews cottage. Alnwick.
Kind regards.
Lawrence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillybeth...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a fantastic time at Mews Cottage. The cottage is gorgeous, it was warm and cosy and had everything we needed for our four night stay, including the complementary cake and chocolates. It's easy to walk into town, via the car park, so it was handy for shops and restaurants without resorting to using the car. Larry was very welcoming and he and Lynne had thought of everything, the cottage is very well equipped. There were even games, DVDs, books and a football to keep everyone entertained, which is no easy task. We would all genuinely love to stay again. There's just one thing to bear in mind, the nearby church bells ring all day and all night, so if you're a light sleeper take some earplugs, but it's still worth it. I can't recommend Mews Cottage highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Hi Jill
Thank you so much for your excellent review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm grateful for your comments about the church bell sounding, I've had a thought and I have a plan to sabotage the bell ropes. Only joking of course!!! I hope it wasn't to much of an inconvieince for you though.
We very much look forward to having you back with us.
Kind regards
Larry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila L
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

From the warm welcome we received from the owner Lawrence, to our reluctant goodbyes, we had the best time here. The cottage is beautifully appointed, well equipped and immaculately clean. it is also in a fantastic location, a quiet street, with it's own designated parking space,you have a couple of minutes walk and you are in the centre of Alnwick town and all the facilities there. Alnwick itself is perfect for exploring both the countryside, and the coast. The little villages, castles and the breathtaking beaches are a joy. This was our first visit to Northumberland and it won't be our last, especially now we have found "The perfect place to stay".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches, that made the cottage so lovely.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Hi Sheila
Many thanks for your review of Mews Cottage and your comments about North Northumberland. You put it perfectly when you describe the little villages, castles and beaches a joy; it something we take here for granted. Thank you for reminding us.
Sheila we very much look forward to seeing you and the family again at Mews Cottage. Again thank you for your kind review.
Lawrence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Hi Kate.
Thank you so much for your review of Mews Cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you and your family back if you in the future.
Kind regards.
Lawrence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Home from home and some”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

WOW what a lovely lovely place to spend a week. We were met after many emails, by Lawrence and Lynne. We were early but they were still all smiles and open doors. After a long journey way up to Alnwick, from Hove, it felt like coming home. The house is so lovely, all it top notch in décor and furnishings. You can tell everyone who stays there looks after it but that it is a pride for its owners too. I can not recommend this house enough. Our friends said we had chosen the nicest house in Alnwick and, we did. Thank you so much we will be back xxxxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and general upkeep
Liked least: the bells of the church NO ONES FAULT just location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Hi Tonia, Jim.

Thank you so much for the very kind words in this review.Yes we certainly look forward to having you back with us again.
Kind regards and best wishes.
Lawrence & Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing