We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect cottage in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mews Cottage

Mews cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mews cottage
Courtyard Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Mews cottage
Courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second double bedroom
Second double bedroom
Third single bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Dining area
Dining area alternative view
Courtyard
Courtyard in bloom
Courtyard in bloom
View of Alnwick Castle and surrounding pastures - 5 minutes walk from mews cottage
One of the many harbours in the area that you are likely to see
View of Craster Harbour - 8 miles from Mews cottage
View of Bamburgh Castle - 15 miles from Mews cottage
View of Dunstanburgh Castle from Embleton beach - 8 miles from Mews cottage
One of the many beach's to explore - Drurage Bay 15 miles from Mews cottage
Views taken in Northumberland National Park - 12 miles from Mews cottage
Views taken in Northumberland National Park
House on Cragside Estate near Rothbury - 12 miles from Mews cottage
View of Cragside Estate near Rothbury - 12 miles from Mews cottage
Lindisfarne Castle - 20 miles from Mews cottage
Lindisfarne Castle - 20 miles from Mews cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
joanne l
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed for 3 nights during half term, and couldn't have asked for a better holiday cottage. The photos online do not do it justice...lovely rooms, high ceilings, beautifully and comfortably furnished, spotlessly clean, with everything you might need. Lawrence was a friendly host, answering questions, making helpful suggestions, and leaving us cake - perfect!
The location is brilliant, tucked away in a private mews, so quiet and peaceful, yet only 3 minutes walk into the centre of Alnwick, with a supermarket 5 minutes walk, and only 10 minutes to the castle (15 minutes walking with small children!!). Would highly recommend this to anyone - perfect for families, but equally lovely for couples as once the kids were in bed it was just the most lovely place to relax. We plan to go back again, as only touched the surface of all the great things to do in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Hi , Joanne, Andrew.
Wow and thank you for a great review, we much appreciate it and many thanks.
We look forward to you coming back to us again.
Kind regards and thank you for booking with us.
Lawrence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesleyjf1...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Mews Cottage was absolutely perfect, beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and had everything you could want for a very relaxing holiday. We were greeted by Lawrence who made us feel very welcome and showed us around, also gave us a few good points on places to visit and eat, would recommend Lilburns! The cottage is set in a quiet off-road location and yet only 2 minutes from the centre of Alnwick with plenty of interesting shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. There is a Morrison's store just up the road for your daily essentials plus 3 other supermarkets within easy reach. The splendour of Alnwick castle is 5 mins away and well worth a visit. very relaxing holiday, we are already planning our next visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW3232
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is lovely,it's spotlessly clean and very well stocked. It's a perfect location to explore Alnwick with plenty to see and do.
Lawrence, the owner met us personally and showed us round and gave us plenty of information about local attractions, and left us a few tasty treats to enjoy too.
We will defanatly stay here again. We were very comfortable here and left reluctantly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a quiet, peaceful yet central location.”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Absolutely loved our stay at Mews Cottage. The location is perfect for visiting lots of local places on foot such as the Alnwick Garden and Castle which is but a few minutes away as well as being well placed for shops and supermarkets. The cottage was spotless and very warm and comfortable throughout. Each room has been thoughtfully presented and equipped with all you could need for a lovely stay, in particular lots of kitchen items which we made good use of cooking for a family of 5, as well as games to play, books, DVDs and helpful leaflets on the local sites. The garden is a pleasant bonus which my girls enjoyed for a wee play in the sunshine. We also really appreciated Lawrence's friendly manner on arrival and the care he took to explain the property and local places of interest. We will definitely be booking again, can't think of anywhere else I would rather stay in Alnwick for our yearly trips!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean, well presented and equipped the cottage was as well as the friendly manner.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
629anne
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house, gorgeous location!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had such a good time- the house was perfectly located for visiting just about everything- we went up to Berwick and down to Durham. We were overwhelmed by the scenery, the abundance of castles, wonderful scenic walks and friendly people. Everyone had time to advise us on where to go next and wonder where our accent was from. We particularly enjoyed being terrified in the cellars in Alnwick castle with some really chatty ladies who had been to Ireland and loved it. The house was so lovely and comfortable, quiet, yet close to a supermarket and lots of lovely food shops. The owner, Lawrence was so very helpful and a great advocate for Northumberland. We were so sorry to leave and are definitely planning to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely street, the plants in pots outside, the cat in the window across the street, the locals who all chatted to us, the local food shops, hairdresser, tourist information- I could go on.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing