We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,194)
Filter reviews
1,194 results
Traveller rating
341
401
256
132
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
401
256
132
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister ship the olympic dining room olympic restaurant hardy's bistro classic lodges afternoon tea no lift coach party old coaching inn night porter public car park course dinner lovely hotel the main street superior room alnwick gardens central location
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 1,194 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We had afternoon tea which was a very pleasant experience. It would have been really magnificent if we could have had it in the main dining room which comes from the Olympic sister ship to the Titanic. Outside in the square was the market and an outdoor concert. Alnwick has an arts festival. Parking is free but the old coaching inn entrance is narrow so take it slowly

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

When we stepped into the dining room there were a few dines eating very quietly, after 10 minutes of feeling rather stupid we went back out to reception and asked if they could get a member of staff to attend to us. The reception went through the back and promptly 4 staff appeared.
Dinner was very slow, my husbands started came later than the others as chef wasn't happy with the way it turned out. He ordered seared beef with an oyster on top, a bit unusual but albeit, when it did arrive the seared beef was like a piece of beef left over from Sunday's roast. And the oyster look like a mussel. My fiend had a dish with a poached egg on top and that also looked like a hard boiled egg. The chef is trying to create dishes out with his reach. Why not just put up traditional food like steak pie or chicken chips to match the old fashion decor?

Room Tip: We wouldn't go back but maybe we were just unlucky, might need your own oppion.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank beastylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Just come home after a weekend at the White Swan having spent some Tesco Clubcard points there!
Location - central to Alnwick. Close to pubs, restaurants, shops, castle and gardens. Good.
Parking - free, but limited. Care if you have a wide car as you have to go through the old coaching arch.
Reception - easy and quick to do. No complaints. All were friendly.
Room - not too bad for size. Enough wardrobe space. Warm. Double bed not very wide. Room 126 has a gigantic gap under the door which means you have bright light from the corridor shining through all night plus you get loud noise from anyone passing by ( we did, at 1.30am!). They really need to fix this.
Bathroom - shower works well. Bit of damp on the ceiling.
Breakfast - was fine. If the bacon is to be that minute then you need more than one rasher. Other than that, yes, beans please.
Dinner - we never are there. Try the Italian, Di Sopra, across the road, it's great.
Bar - friendly staff, would like them to remember what I asked for a minute ago. We had to go to reception one evening as no one was behind tbe bar. They were all chatting at reception. Strangely, it was the food and beverage manager that came rushing and not one of the 2 barmaids.
Also, please get rid of that Viking Cruises poster in the window. The event has been and gone!
I do like this hotel and would recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MGW140165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This hotel is in the heart of Alnwick town, right on the main street with all the shops, bars and restaurants, which is fantastic. The bar is great and friendly, the staff are lovely. We had a lovely stay, I would only say it is a bit tired and old fashioned

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sonicacaca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

On the plus side were the hotel's location in the main street of Alnwick, the free parking, the large and very comfortable bed and the excellent food served for dinner in the Majestic dining room.
However, there were a few negatives some of which we felt were almost inevitable because of the age of the building. There was no lift, no double glazing and no heating in the bathroom. Incidentally, the central heating in our bedroom was not working but we were provided with a fan heater and a generous discount on the room price - so no real complaint there.
The restaurant staff seemed over-stretched and waiting times between courses felt a little too long, perhaps more waiting staff are needed, The dinner menu was quite limited but everything we ate was first class - so congratulations to your chef. Breakfast was fine, up to a point, but the portions were rather small (one tiny rasher of bacon !) and there were no baked beans or hash browns, however, there was an excellent selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, etc.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would happily go again. Just one final comment - management were conspicuous by their absence. No manager spoke to us about the heating problem in our bedroom.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bix1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews