We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eating GEM in Alnwick”
Review of The Tower Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Tower Restaurant
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Please note that the Tower Restaurant and Rooms is under new management from 14th October 2012.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“An eating GEM in Alnwick”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I like eating out and we live in Alnwick. Some restaurants in Alnwick have become sloppy and not trying hard to attract customers back. However, this is our first visit to The Tower restaurant in Alnwick .. and .. WOW. The food is superb! first class. It's like a Michelin star restaurant.
The service was also exceptional

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank polskirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent little restaurant”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The town of Alnwick wants to attract visitors and tourists. The famous castle and gardens, the treehouse, that fabulous golden coast nearby, the Cheviot and Simonside hills for the walks. Ok, bring them here, then, but how to keep them in the town, spending money, and coming back? This little restaurant just inside the old walls - Bondgate Within - in this charming town may just be part of the answer. It offers pretty simple food, well prepared and presented, without breaking the bank. The menu promises 'meal deals' - it it quite clear that some dishes are at a premium over the base 'from' price - they would have to be to offer acceptable quality. The menu is not specially long, but covers a good variety of tastes. Alnwick needs more of this type of place in the town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_NE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food great prices”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This small but friendly restaurant just on your right as you enter Alnwick bondgate within has outstanding food and value with a set 3 course available for around 15pp highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garymackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Rode in here (Alnwick) on a tour up North on the Motorcycle. Was getting dark so pulled in from A1 and checked in here as the only available room I could find. Was absolutely chuffed with the place given I was booking blind. The full english next morning was incredible, best ever and I decided to stay another night for another breakfast lol. The room was I would say very comfortable and after asking around other places as a comparison was the cheapest at £42.50 for a single per night. By all accounts I was lucky to get in on the fly so to speak and the there were four other sets of guests at breakfast so I guess I was given there are five room. I cannot speak for the other rooms but mine had a TV, kettle, tea, coffee, biscuits, towels, soaps shampoo etc. Wi-Fi downstairs but not upstairs I was told that was a bind tbh.

All in all a fantastic stay thanks very much to all ;-)

Highly recommend

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smarties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Old fashioned and poor food”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The only downside to a great visit to Alnwick. My wife and I visited the Tower Restaurant on Saturday 17th September the following night to a visit to the Tree House restaurant which was excellent and it was a mistake. The decor is old fashioned to say the least, it was like being in a 70s time warp and the food was awful. Unfortunately it's fairly evident that the food is from packets, quickly cooked in a microwave oven and doesn't come cheap despite the poor quality. The fact that this place has some good reviews is bemusing - they must come from people in the 75+ year old bracket who may find the surroundings and mushy food appealing. The one and only good point was the service from the 2 girls on duty, I felt bad about not leaving them a tip but the food was so poor for £50+ I just couldn't justify it. There are plenty of good places to eat in Almwick and the surrounding area so give this place a miss.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tower Restaurant also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
Shilbottle, Alnwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing