We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
150
32
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
32
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarter booksold englishamenities includingwarm welcomeroom was spotlesslarge loungehappily stay here againeach morninggreat hostsgreat place to visitshort walk into townconvenient locationthought of everythingwell worth a visitbamburgh castlearthurjane
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

When I arrived with my partner, we had a warm welcome from Arthur, the owner, and an even warmer welcome from Barney the old English sheepdog.

We had a large en-suite room on the first floor. The en-suite had a shower in, but we also had access to a fully appointed bathroom across the hall in case we wanted a bath. The room had everything you would expect in the way of tea/coffee facilities and toiletries, but a lot more that took the service levels up a notch e.g. panty liners, cotton buds, cotton ball etc. plus room extras like an umbrella, extension lead for the hair dryer, and high quality magazines.

The breakfasts were hearty and tasty, and set us up for the day. There is also a large lounge with plenty of books and comfy seating if you’d prefer to stay in.

I’d happily stay here again if I’m back in Alnwick, and would recommend it without hesitation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CazMumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We only stayed one night at Aydon House but felt like we had the red carpet rolled out for us! The rooms were comfortable and clean. Nice amenities in each room included tea and coffee, sweets, and other nibbles. Breakfast was well prepared and quite filling. But the highlight for us was the lovely owners who spent time giving us advice on places to eat and sites to see. Very convenient location, with an easy walk to local restaurants and the castle.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank betsy1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

There were four in our group of motorcyclists. We picked Aydon House due to the fact that it was central to our proposed riding routes and more importantly the secure parking for our motorcycles. When Arthur stated that he had a garage - he has a garage! Very spacious with plenty of room for the four bikes and more!

The en-suite rooms that we used were spacious, warm (it was July) and comfortable, especially after a full day of motorcycling. Plenty of coffee, tea and milk and small details like glasses cleaners (very handy for visors) left on the bedside tables. There was also a KitKat bar ready for each of us.

Fantastic breakfast! It set us all up for the day, so not needing any lunch until evening (except for the coffee breaks en-route). Plenty of coffee, cereals, fruit, toast etc, accompanied by a good cooked breakfast.

A short walk takes you to the centre of Alnwick where there are pubs, cafes and restaurants. An even shorter walk brings you to Barter Books - certainly worth a visit.

Arthur and all the staff are exceptionally friendly and accommodating to our requirements.

Aydon House is our preferred option when touring Northumberland and the Borders.

Room Tip: Excellent for touring motorcycling due to the secure parking
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alistair_VT750S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We've just got back from a wonderful 3 night break in Alnwick. Aydon House is a stunning home, in an ideal location for walking to the the town, gardens and castle. Aydon House has a much appreciated traditional approach to hospitality, and we felt comfortable as soon as we arrived, no stuffy boutique attitudes here! Jane, Arthur and their staff have thought of everything, we wanted for nothing! Even Barney the dog makes you feel at home, we would defiantly stay again and I have no worries in recommending Aydon House to travellers to this part of the country. Thank you Arthur and Jane.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank J-King-Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The room was a good size with clean bedding, there was even a welcoming KitKat (my favourite) on the coffee making tray, the only down side to the room was the size of the en suite, this was a bit small, but still nice & clean. The breakfast was good and you have a wide choice. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us, we were a group on a motorcycle tour of Northumberland and we parked our bikes in their secure garage overnight.
It is only a short walk into town where there are some good restaurants to ensure you do not starve. and very close to the B&B is 'Barter Books' in what I believe is the old railway station, well worth a visit and it even has its own model railway running round the tops of the book cases.
Ideal location for visiting Chillingham Castle, Bamburgh Castle, Lindisfarne, Keilder Forest etc

Room Tip: Nice view at front, but near busy road, I am used to very quiet house, but noise did not bother me.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malandnazgrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews