We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
150
32
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
32
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarter booksold englishamenities includingwarm welcomeroom was spotlesslarge loungehappily stay here againeach morninggreat hostsgreat place to visitshort walk into townconvenient locationthought of everythingwell worth a visitbamburgh castlearthurjane
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My husband and I recently stayed in September 2016 for four nights. We arrived and received a lovely friendly welcome from Jane. Our room was excellent, very clean, comfortable , very cosy and warm. tea and coffee making facilities with a flask of fresh milk every day, provided a nice change from those small pots of uht . We met Arhur, Janes' husband later who was just as great. Our dietary needs were well catered for with a freshly cooked breakfast to start the day and nothing was too much trouble. Great private car park We certainly would stay again and have no hesitation in recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at back off the main room and quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kitchenbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed 7 nights in October. Great hospitality. Arthur and Jane are friendly and welcoming, offering advice on where to eat etc. Many extras available. Breakfast was good and plentiful with non-menu items available on request. Fresh towels provided daily and housekeeping to a high standard. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlanWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

After reading all the reviews I had high expectations of this place. Arthur and Jane were lovely and we couldn't fault their hospitality. The breakfast was excellent and Barney was lovely and very well behaved.
The room was clean but cold despite the heating. It was very old fashioned the en suite being a purpose built box built in the bedroom. It didn't even go all the way to the ceiling. It was also very small and I think larger people may struggle. There was a larger bathroom that you could use.
If you're just using it as somewhere to sleep during the warmer months it is brilliant but if your looking for somewhere cosy to settle down on a cold autumn evening then it doesn't really fit the bill.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilacL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We had a very warm welcome from Arthur and Barney the old English sheepdog! :) And after a comfy night's sleep and Jane's full English breakfast we were well setup for the day! Definitely recommend this lovely B&B and we will be returning :)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennik47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We originally couldn't find anywhere to stay in Alnwick at short notice on the usual booking sites but on ringing Aydon house direct they said they had a room! And not only that I recognised the name and location after having lived in Alnwick previously some years ago. The whole set up is very homely and welcoming. Room's are clean and comfortable and breakfast was very nice,accompanied by barney the dog! Would definitely stay again. Thank you Arthur and Jane.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank simon2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews