We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
150
32
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
32
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old english barter books fresh milk room was spotless amenities including warm welcome tea and coffee home from home short walk helpful information happily stay here again large lounge biscuits each morning great place to visit great hosts convenient location
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

After reading all the reviews I had high expectations of this place. Arthur and Jane were lovely and we couldn't fault their hospitality. The breakfast was excellent and Barney was lovely and very well behaved.
The room was clean but cold despite the heating. It was very old fashioned the en suite being a purpose built box built in the bedroom. It didn't even go all the way to the ceiling. It was also very small and I think larger people may struggle. There was a larger bathroom that you could use.
If you're just using it as somewhere to sleep during the warmer months it is brilliant but if your looking for somewhere cosy to settle down on a cold autumn evening then it doesn't really fit the bill.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilacL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We had a very warm welcome from Arthur and Barney the old English sheepdog! :) And after a comfy night's sleep and Jane's full English breakfast we were well setup for the day! Definitely recommend this lovely B&B and we will be returning :)

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennik47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We originally couldn't find anywhere to stay in Alnwick at short notice on the usual booking sites but on ringing Aydon house direct they said they had a room! And not only that I recognised the name and location after having lived in Alnwick previously some years ago. The whole set up is very homely and welcoming. Room's are clean and comfortable and breakfast was very nice,accompanied by barney the dog! Would definitely stay again. Thank you Arthur and Jane.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank simon2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

When driving into Alnwick we saw the sign for Aydon House B & B. and stopped
to enquire if any vacancies for the night. They only had one small room on second floor left but decided it would be fine for the night. It was also a bonus that they had a nice big car park at the rear. We booked for one night but ended up staying two.
Jane and Arthur were very kind and couldn't do enough for us.
We enjoyed our stay very much as well as our welcome from Barney, the Old English
Sheepdog.
Next time we are in the area we will seek out Aydon House for a return visit.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iib1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Our 4th visit and it won't be our last. Location, welcome, quality of room and service are all terrific. Breakfast with Barney is an experience like no other although his predecessor was just as welcoming. We aim to visit Alnwick for a few days every year and you just can't beat Aydon House.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews