We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise”
Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Weaverthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We did not know what to expect when booking into the Star Inn other than it is pet friendly and was closed not so long ago. Congratulations to Will, Ali and team for ensuring we had a lovely stay. Dinner was exactly as described - good value pub grub. The pub was busy and the clientele very friendly. The room could have been finished a little more carefully but served its purpose nonetheless. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day.

We will certainly return.

A review would not be complete without mentioning Jamboree and Rocky - real characters!

Room Tip: All are different therefore select individually if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygoluckyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

A little gem, basic but very comfortable, warm, clean and spacious room, with a lovely shower, which was a lovely surprise as normally showers in these places are awful!! The staff and owners were very friendly and the food was beautiful. Set in a stunning location and will definitely head back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We've just got back from a fantastic weekend spent at The Star Inn. When we arrived we found that our booking through Late Rooms had not been forwarded to the venue. This was the only issue, and even then we were told this was not a problem at all and they could accommodate us, even though it was Valentines night, even with a table for the evening meal. The room was fantastic and warm. We could not recommend this place enough, we will definitely be going back. We ate both nights and the food was great, especially the pizzas. Overheatd talk at the pub, so glad we didn't stay at The Bluebell just up the road, the owner doesn't like his residents eating at The Star, he must be scared they'll see what they're missing! If you want a great overall package, go see Will and Ali at The Star

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil_N_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

What a warm welcoming village pub. My wife and myself along with 2 other couples were ataying overnight nearby and fancied a change of scenery. We arrived at the Star Inn just as the landlord was opening the front doors. Within 15 minutes the place was packed as there was a 50th Birthday party arranged. Will and Analisa (landlord and landlady) even though they were rushed off there feet with a busy party, went out of there way to look after us and provide us with some impromptu snacks. One of our party had a burger and he said it was the best burger he had EVER tatsed, which had to be the best complement as this guy is so so fussy. We stayed for a few drinks and whished we could have stayed for more but time was against us. Thanks for making our afternoon and thanks for going that extra mile............not many places would have been so accomadating. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank RAMoore1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This inn is in a little village of Weaverthorpe near Malton.. (not as close as we first thought to Malton however)
Our first impression was quite favourable as the inn looks befitting of a small country village..quaint and cosy. The welcome was friendly by the chatty and cheerful staff. We were in a small room facing the front lawn..it was basic but had a lovely clean comfy bed but there were few carpet stains in room...perhaps they could be sorted. We had to use a bathroom along the corridor..it was also very basic, with no shower. We ate in the hotel that evening..the food was very good and very tasty. Well done chef ! There is a wood burning fire in the pub which added to the cosy outlook. The pub didn't fill up until much later but it was lively enough.
There is also another pub just a few yards away (different owners) ..that looked a nice place to visit. All in all a quiet village with 2 country pubs to pass the evening ,eating and chatting .

Room Tip: Front facing rooms look out on to lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janbilly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: Main Street, Weaverthorpe YO17 8EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Weaverthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weaverthorpe
Price Range: $115 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run country Pub/Restaurant/B&B with traditional values and service. We have recently (End of 2016) completed a major renovation of the entire business and we are delighted to now be offering a very high level of rooms across our B&B..... Our restaurant is very busy and we have a well stocked bar offering many choices of lagers and local beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Inn - Weaverthorpe Hotel Weaverthorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing