We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing trip away for 70th birthday”
other travellers have booked this property
Ariel View of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ariel View of the house
Cosy sitting room Dining room set for a celebration for14 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Ariel View of the house
Cosy sitting room
Dining room set for a celebration for14 people
Kitchen with Aga Cooker
Boot room - plenty of room for drying boots and coats - even the dog gets a comfy bed
Bedroom one has an en-suite. The beds can be linked together or used as twin singles
Bedroom 2 with twin beds which can be zipped together to make a super king sized double bed
Shower in Bathroom 1, looking through the door to the landing and staircase
Bedroom 3 with four poster king sized bed
Bedroom 4 has a double bed
Bedroom 5 faces south and has a standard size double bed
Bedroom 6 has twin beds that can be linked together for a super-king sized bed
Bedroom 7 is the single room with a good view of the stars
Bedroom 8 with King Sized bed and en-suite shower room and W.C.
Tour De France 2014 racing past the back of the house
Hazel Brow House and Garden
Layout of rooms at Hazel Brow
View over the BBQ Patio, looking, Westward 'Updale'
Beautiful view of the dale
Summer Meadows
Hazel Brow from the  fields by the river
Private footpath back to the house
Winter Snow
Garden party on the front patio
view from the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JackM214
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing trip away for 70th birthday”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I were lucky enough to spend a week in Hazel Brow House for our Mothers/Grandmother's 70th Birthday. The pictures online look fabulous and we certainly weren't disappointed when we arrived!

It's difficult to find a rental property that can sleep 14 comfortably - but Hazel Brow fits the bill perfectly! The 8 well-appointed bedrooms we're beautifully styled - each with their own individual character. In fact, this can be applied to the entire house. The communal spaces were large yet cosy; Catherine provided ample firewood and the house was kept warm by both a combination of the fire, an AGA and the oil-fueled heating system (on all day on the ground floor and on a timer in the bedrooms).

Hazel Brow has ample plates, cutlery, glasses and mugs for 14 guests. We thoroughly enjoyed 'breakfast in style' in the large dining room - despite the AGA taking a bit of getting used to! The kitchen was well-equipped with plenty of utensils, pots and pans. There is also a conventional electric oven which meant there were plenty of hob-rings to cook on. The 3 fridges spread throughout the house (in the boot room, pantry and kitchen) provided plenty of space to store all the Wensleydale we bought!

Nothing was too much trouble for Catherine. She was only an email or phone call away. When we requested an iron at short notice it was delivered within 24 hours. She had specially arranged for 70th birthday decorations to be put up for our arrival - it was a lovely touch and it was great to finally meet her when she popped along one morning.

The surrounding area of Swaledale was lovely - views from all of the bedrooms (particularly the rooms located at the front of the house) were delightful. A car is essential if you're visiting the area as it is quite remote - though there are plenty of walks to be had in the locality.

Upon recommendation we dined at The Punchbowl Inn (conveniently located a 5-10 minute walk away) - it was a great way to celebrate the birthday.

We would thoroughly recommend the house - it was an absolutely fabulous week. The only downside was the slow wifi connection (if your group are planning on hooking up approximately 28 devices!) & non-existent phone signal (though you don't come on holiday to check your emails!), but a landline connection was provided that allowed outbound calls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely surroundings and beautiful house
Liked least: Slow wifi (we liked to think of it as a digital-detox)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquib9
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at Hazel Brow house with friends. Hazel Brow itself is fabulous and is set in the most stunning location. Catherine (the owner) was so thoughtful. The booking process was simple, she contacted us before our stay to ensure the bedrooms were all made up to our needs, and left a wonderful welcome basket of treats for our arrival. All of the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The layout is perfect for a large group (12) and the kitchen is very well equipped. The views from almost every window are spectacular. There are so many beautiful walks to take from your doorstep with the pretty village of Reeth an easy 4 mile walk along the river Swale The Punch Bowl Inn in Low Row, is an easy 10 minute walk from the house itself and serves fabulous food. This house is a real gem, we would absolutely recommend this amazing place to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha L
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

FULL DISCLOSURE I have close ties to the village of Low Row, my father was born there. The beauty of Low Row and the Dales are in my blood. But onto Hazel Brow... the property is a gem with stunning views. Breath taking! The house is lovely with period charm and modern convenience. Lots of hot water, heat on demand and a great kitchen.
The owner of the property was wonderful and accommodated a very large request to use the garden for a family reunion!!!
The house is great for small gatherings and large alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonm32...
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely fabulous!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Booked this property for my husband and mine's 50th birthday celebration. Communication with the owner was swift and easy, the property was delightful - lovely bedrooms and bathrooms and the location just perfect for walking or visit to nearby Reeth and Leyburn. A local chef, Sandie Bond, prepared a fantastic meal for us (6 couples) on the Saturday night which I'd thoroughly recommend. Go ahead and book Hazel Brow House, you won't be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review us, so pleased you had a great time, and yes, Sandie's Beef Wellington is amazing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zumba T
1 review
“Perfect relaxing girls weekend”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from a long weekend at Hazel Brow celebrating my friends hen do. It is the perfect house for a large group get together. All of the bedrooms are stunning so no fighting over who sleeps where, there's a large living room with plenty of comfy seats and a stunning dining room with beautiful views to seat everyone. We had a hot tub, food cooked and served to us by Fairhursts (which was fantastic) and amazing spa treatments by My Personal Sanctuary who set up their treatment beds in the 2 large bedrooms. There is a walk which we did at the bottom of the gardens along the river awake which is truly stunning. So we didn't leave the house all weekend. Everyone loved it. It was absolutely perfect and Catherine the owner can't do enough for you. Want to do it all again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
So glad you all enjoyed it - best wishes for the wedding!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing