We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
USD 62
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/05/21
ZenHotels.com
USD 53
View deal
PricelineUSD 62
Agoda.comUSD 62
Hotels.comUSD 62
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
455
360
121
54
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
455
360
121
54
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room leisure centre mini bar car park reception staff an upgrade stayed one night evening meal full english gym stopover richmond corridor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed overnight as a half way point travelling from Sheffield back home.
Bright and welcoming reception area. Had an issue checking in but was not the hotel’s fault. Had booked via Itison and the booking hadn’t transferred through to the hotel. However this was sorted out quickly by the girl working on reception.
Room wasn’t huge but had a king size bed which was great. Issue with our TV but again this was sorted out really quickly and didn’t cause us an issue. Room and bathroom both very clean.
Ate in the bar/restaurant and the food was great.
Was a bit concerned about road noise at night, given the hotel’s position but this was not a problem and we slept well.
Good breakfast in the morning.
Definitely a good choice if you’re looking for a stopover hotel.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trail143222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

Slightly difficult initially to find when coming off the A1, its further back than you assume.
Excellent well kept hotel however, it also has fantastic staff who provide first rate service throughout, they are extremely friendly & helpful as well as remaining upbeat in difficult times.
Very well laid out (taking all present precautions placed into position).Nice restaurant area, again carefully spaced. The room is well kept & as well as spacious, it certainly makes you feel safe.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steppin-owt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

Spent two nights here. Convenient location on A1 for travelling around and only 5 miles from Richmond. Outside looks quite austere but was very favourably impressed with inside decor and sweeping staircase. Samantha on reception is excellent, friendly and informative, felt really welcomed. Had executive room which was large and excellent bed. TV was a bit temperamental and had to be manually changed to HDMI1 input every time I switched it on but no big deal once you learnt how to do it, could do with changing default to HDMI1. Bar was nice but didn’t eat here. Door into room was not very well soundproofed with gap at bottom, had some noisy workmen staying in my corridor who left every morning at around 6.20, didn’t really bother me but might annoy some guests, was the only negative on room though.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Numberoneguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night, to break a journey further north. The large hotel is built on the site of a C16th inn, which itself was built at the junction of Roman roads.

I had expected, on seeing the inn's location, that there would have been significant road noise, and, with it being a Saturday night, some noise from guests. I was pleased to discover there was neither.

We booked an accessible room. It was spacious and well decorated with everything one would expect, including a room fridge, reasonable sized television and an extremely comfortable bed.

Breakfast was fine, with options for a full English (but with no black pudding offered) and a continental option. One could have either, both or mix and match.
A bargain at £9.95 per person.

Health and Safety arrangements were clear and well explained. Members of staff wore masks, there was a one way system in reception and in the dining room and there were plenty of bottles of hand sanitiser available.

The jewel in the crown of the Holiday Inn at Scotch Corner is the staff. Every single member of staff was pleasantly friendly, cheerful, helpful and eager to make our short stay as good as it could be.

The Cullinan diamond of the staff (sorry for the overflowery metaphors in this review) is Alex, on reception. She made us feel extremely welcome. And... and... and she even managed to free up a disabled parking space for us, which was being used by, well... by an oaf who was not entitled to use it.

Every single other person, in shops, at museums, even at a GP surgery, at one time, with whom I have raised a similar point has responded that nothing could be done about it. Thank you, Alex. Thank you.
10/10.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChristineandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed one night while travelling. We were greeted with smiles and pleasant good humour and that continued throughout our stay. From the outside the hotel looks shabby but inside it is well maintained, clean and pleasant. Public rooms are fine for a short stay, bedrooms well equipped with nice bathrooms. Breakfast was cooked to order and served by a cheerful and friendly chap. For a one night, reasonably priced hotel it was difficult to fault it.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews