We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Really liked this place. It has just completed a big refurbishment and it's money well spent. I stayed here a couple of years ago before the works started and vowed never to return.

It's an old building so there are squeaky floors etc. but it is quite grand and has lots of character.

The room (an executive one) was large, spacious, spotlessly clean and modern. The quality of furnishings doesn't match the rest of the building but it is very good for a Holiday Inn.

There was only one slight negative - the fault of the architect/designer and that was that outside our room it was hard tile effect flooring. Looks great but as we were close to the lift you heard every footstep clomping along and anyone with a wheelly suitcase or trolley made a thunderous racket!

The public areas are excellent and the restaurant really smart. Food was very good - it is an Italian style restaurant. Well priced and top notch quality. Breakfast again was excellent.

All in all one of the best Holiday Inn's I have ever stayed at. Many seem to be losing their appeal lately so it's nice to see places like this.

Room Tip: Book an Executive and ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zakthetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    266
    87
    33
    28
See reviews for
127
297
25
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Have now stayed here 5 times, and each time things are better than the previous stay. It has been refurbed, And the staff are getting to grips with the Holiday Inn 'way'.
Have found all the staff pleasant, the rooms clean, and the food an excellent finish to the day. Always treated well as a Platinum member.
My new favourite hotel in the North East, try it. Nick

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aBakedBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We found this hotel to be well refurbished, very smart, and the staff bent over backwards to be helpful. Dinner in the Italian restaurant was excellent and very reasonably priced - two pastas, a glass of wine and two bottles of Italian beer for £30.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room looking onto a car park, no traffic noise, so ask for a similar one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindisfarnegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Nice enough place to say with friendly staff and clean room.
The hotel had obviously been given a refurbishment recently, although the details were a little cheap the overall appearance was very nice.
Free and ample parking.
We stayed in a deluxe room which was a decent size but it lacked finish and the rooms were not well noise insulated.
We ate in the bar area which looked nice but the food and drink were very average.
Decent place and we would stay again and if I had the option I would score this a 3.5 rating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telemachus_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband I and booked in for an overnight stay whilst travelling down to Lincolnshire. The hotel has been refurbished very well, our room was very modern and spacious, comfortable bed and good quality pillows. Price of room was only £53!

The hotel is bright and modern, tastefully decorated. We had a 3 course meal at the Italian restaraunt within the hotel and this was quite good and again price was very reasonable. (Pizza a bit thin and dry, but pasta good)
Staff friendly and helpful. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
3.0 km away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
5.8 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
6.1 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price range (per night): $78 - $148
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing