We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop at Scotch Corner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight stop at Scotch Corner”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband I and booked in for an overnight stay whilst travelling down to Lincolnshire. The hotel has been refurbished very well, our room was very modern and spacious, comfortable bed and good quality pillows. Price of room was only £53!

The hotel is bright and modern, tastefully decorated. We had a 3 course meal at the Italian restaraunt within the hotel and this was quite good and again price was very reasonable. (Pizza a bit thin and dry, but pasta good)
Staff friendly and helpful. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    278
    89
    38
    28
See reviews for
130
306
28
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here recently and was pleasantly surprised as I did not know there was a holiday inn here, I usually stay in and around Darlington. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the public areas were very stylish, the bedrooms warm and comfortable. Reception had my booking to hand and also all my loyalty details which was a nice touch. Ample parking and just a minute from A1.
A warm room with complimentary wi fi and water,juice and a kit kat in the fridge was most welcome after my long drive.
The room also had a media center so bring your cables with you and plug in. Ample power sockets which is handy when charging phones, laptops,etc. The only negative was the noise, I was on ground floor and the other occupants arrived late and left early in the morning and the insulation between rooms was poor.
I ate dinner in the restaurant and it was fine, breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choices.I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrycrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here last minute on a weekend where heavy snow was forecast. Its been refurbished and has that "new" feel to it but keeping some of the old features but brought into a modern style . The room was lovely, well decorated, large bed, very clean, lovely bathroom, fridge with complimentary kitkat and soft drinks, and a safe which came in suprisingly handy. The only problem we had was with the heating controls as on the second day it appeared to break, however as we were leaving that morning we informed reception on checking out. The snow came as predicted so we used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room which again was complimentary which were ok (its in need of a refurb around the edges which i believe is in the pipeline but even so, was clean and pleasant). On the saturday evening we ate in the bar due to the bad weather, this was a little pricey however the food was very nice and the homemade chips were lovely and the setting was very relaxing.

We had breakfast on the one morning and this was a disappointment. having stayed in a holiday inn a few weeks previous and having had a lovely breakfast, this was a let down. We arrived at 9.45am, there were 2 other people having breakfast, there were about 3 sausages left, 1 hash brown, no fried eggs - we werent informed by the waiter that more would be available, so we shared what was left, about 10 minutes later more food was put out, by which time we had already eaten. We sent back our tea and coffee as they were both cold. All in all, breakfast could have been made so much better.

On checking out we were informed that the breakfast had cost us £10 EACH!! definitely not worth the money at all.

All in all i would stay here again as its a lovely hotel and a good location, but i would find breakfast elsewhere in future !!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ange f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

A one night stay on business. Of all the Holiday Inns in the UK that I have stayed in this is one of the better ones, having obviously been recently refurbished. As a Platinum Priority Club member, I was not offered an upgrade and they told me all the rooms were of the same standard. The room was well appointed if a little small but it had a spacious bathroom and the bed was comfortable. There was a good quality LCD large TV and in a nice touch they provided a complementary mini bar with a kit-kat, water and orange juice (maybe for priority club members only?). The desk area wasn't really compatible for doing any serious work so I had to work lying on the bed. With all said and done and with a very reasonable B&B rate, I will be staying here again, it is better than other alternatives in the Darlington area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My 5 year old granddaughter & I stayed during the Christmas break. What a transformation from the old Scotch Corner Hotel!
We had an amazing time from Check-in to Check-out.
All the staff were lovely, especially with my granddaughter,who proceeded to take photos of everything & everyone.(Santa brought her a camera for Christmas.)
Our room was beautifully decorated, warm & cosy. A spotless bathroom & a really comfy bed.
The food was reasonably priced & delicious.
As a retired hotel manager I'm not that easily impressed, but I certainly was here!
Worth paying a visit to nearby Richmond,a lovely cobbled market town,with a castle & beautiful riverside walks.
The old Station,converted to a cinema/eateries/little shops etc.,worth a visit too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saffronCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
3.0 km away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
130 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
834 reviews
6.1 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
774 reviews
5.8 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Scotch Corner

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price range (per night): $75 - $147
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing