We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing place and very dog friendly...”

Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Mill
The Old Mill from a distance in spring The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Old Mill
The Old Mill from a distance in spring
The lounge
The kitchen
Family bedroom
Twin room, 2nd floor
Bathroom, 1st floor
Bathroom, 2nd floor
Studio Theatre at The Old Mill Centre
In the grounds by the beck
The Old Mill from a distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Richmond, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing place and very dog friendly !!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed there for my dads 75th Birthday we needed somewhere that could sleep 17 people as all the family where going and also dog friendly we had 3 dogs who came. It was perfect most of the beds where single beds and some where bunk beds. One double bed,but It sleeps 22 in total.
The house is massive and there was plenty of space we did not feel crammed. The dogs could play together and there are fields next to the property that dogs can be walked on. I can not highly recommend this place enough we will definitely staying there again. The owner and the housekeeper are very helpful and could not do enough to make our stay a perfect one. You can take your own bedding
( which we did ) you don't need quilts and pillows just the covers. They charge for bedding and pillows but tbh for the two nights we where staying it was not worth the cost but if i was staying for a week i would hire the bedding. Very reasonably priced for the weekend. We all really enjoyed our stay there and highly recommend it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank you for this wonderful review Sandra. We're absolutely delighted that The Old Mill suited your family so well - and that you'd like to come back! We'd love to welcome you again in the future. 'Happy Birthday' once again to your Dad!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiedea...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pet-friendly place to celebrate our daughter's 30th birthday.”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

There was lots of land surrounding the property which was fabulous for the kids to play on and there was a great studio which we were allowed to hire too. Our dogs stayed with us and the whole family enjoyed our time together in such a welcoming, cozy house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're so pleased you had such a wonderful time at The Old Mill. Thank you also for keeping a watchful eye on your dogs, respecting the grounds for future guests. Happy 30th birthday once more to your daughter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellyines...
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A group of 13 of us stayed at the Old Mill for a hen weekend. This is a fantastic property in a beautiful tranquil setting, only minutes from the A1 so it is very easy to get to but yet very much in the countryside. We had a day at the Adrenalin Activity Centre which was only a 10 minute drive away which was perfect. From booking the property to the end of our stay, the service I received from Barbara and the housekeeper was outstanding. The house itself is fantastic; it is very peaceful, has lots of space, is very well kept and has everything you need. I would definitely recommend this property and hope to visit again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you for this lovely, affirming review Kelly. We're so pleased that you all had a memorable time together and that the Old Mill was just what you had hoped for. We would also like to pass on our congratulations to Faye and her new husband! Looking forward to you visiting us again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Idyllic Venue”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A large property set in its own grounds with everything you could wish for,including a log burning stove,ideal for those cold winter days as well as efficient central heating and ample hot water.met by a housekeeper who was friendly and welcoming who escorted us around this wonderful property.A stream running close by and various wildlife in the garden.The Studio was an added bonus with plenty of room for the children to have fun without disturbing anyone else.The market town of Richmond was only a 5 minute drive away.I can certainly recommend this property and hope to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this affirming review - and thank you for staying with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just perfect Again !”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed for a second time, Adults and Children. We had just a good a time as the first, housekeeper efficient and friendly and only a phone call away if needed. Location is ideal as only 10 mins from A1, but no traffic noise and you could be in the middle of nowhere as so peaceful.

Children could make as much noise as they wanted as no one to disturb. We had a Halloween party in the studio which was great fun, and an added bonus to have the additional space. Lots of crockery, pots pans etc and plenty of space to get all 15 of us around the dining table at the same time.

This is becoming a family and friends favourite and sure we will be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing