We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pies but slow service ”
Review of The Piebald Inn

The Piebald Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Hunmanby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 19
Cuisines: Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A wide selection of quality food prepared with fresh, local and seasonal produce. Our 'Wold Famous', award winning, pies are complimented with a well stocked cellar and a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited here today with our family. We initially booked our table for 6pm and didn’t get our meals until about 7:30-7:45 the wait was long and we had to get them to check where our order was. Once the pies came they were delicious but again the wait for desserts was too long - and it wasn’t busy either! The pies we wanted in the beginning were out of stock but we chose alternatives. Our daughter did not like her palomino but I think that was because it was strongly flavoured with leek more than she expected. The bar maid behind the bar taking food ordered was not very approachable and we felt a little uncomfortable with her attitude however the new member of staff with purple/grey/lilac hair was very nice and had great people skills.

1  Thank Lian Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit to us at the Piebald Inn.

We are happy to learn that you loved our food and service level.

Your meals were not cooked immediately as our serving staff were waiting for the other guests in your party to arrive, once menu choices were given to our chef - meals were served in usual time.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We were touring around with our motorhome. After deciding not to stay at a Motorhome site couple of miles away because it was flooding, we decided to look around a pub where we can park for the night. We found this pub thankfully. You will have to pay £11 if you will hook up for electric but it was free if you don't.

We had a family dinner here. They serve so many different kind of pies. The one I wanted was not available but tried another one closer to it. The staff were very friendly.
You can take dog inside for the dog area. They have another area for the customers with out dogs. luckily even it was the first time for our dog to sit with us in a restaurant, he did really behave and we managed to enjoy a really nice family dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kercy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit to us at the Piebald Inn.

We are happy to learn that you used our Britstop facilities for your motorhome and joined us for dinner.

Hope you will stay with us again soon,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Greeted offered drinks, chap came over with the menus, explained everything in great detail, nothing too much trouble, ordered food shown to our table, food was fantastic, the whole experience was fantastic. Can’t wait to eat there again.

2  Thank Steve10322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit to us at the Piebald Inn.

We are happy to learn that you loved our food and service level.

I'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our staff regarding their service.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Brilliant choice of pies. I had mine with chips, mushy peas and gravy. Definitely recommend. My daughter had the children’s fish and chips with beans and ate the whole thing.

3  Thank JaneC357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit to us at the Piebald Inn.

We are happy to learn that you and your daughter loved our food, our fish and chips offering is very popular!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Went with our friends whilst on holiday and it’s as good as all the reviews..the pie concept is genius and the choice of 50 pies is amazing. V friendly staff & place that’s makes you most welcome - the pies are out of this world!!!

2  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit to us at the Piebald Inn.

We are delighted to know you loved our concept and huge choice of pies available.

I'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our staff, and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Piebald Inn also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Piebald Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing