We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tickle Cottage

Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Dining area for six
Second bedroom can sleep 3. Includes hairdryer and TV/DVD
King size bedroom with huilt in wardrobe area includes TV/DVD, hairdryer, iron/board and slippers
The duck family are sitting tennants but they do behave!
Modern bathroom with overhead shower, wall towel rail and skylight
Swimming pool area with sauna and steam room, complimentary access when staying at Tickle Cottage
The very important . . .pub!
Fishing lake
View from the top of the private access road
Ho Ho Ho
Have a Tickle Christmas
Park you car directly outside the cottage and explore!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessicawi...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Tickle cottage is a fantastic find and we loved it! It was my first time at the bay and it was fab the facilities are excellent and there was lots to do! We had a lovely meal at the on site pub the cottage was gorgeous I loved the decor and it's clear that everything has been thought about! It was a fab find and I would highly recommend it to anyone! My little boy loved feeding the ducks and looking at fish on the lake and going to the beach! Can't wait to book my next stay!
Thanks very much for sharing your gorgeous holiday home!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, my son also likes the fishing lake but not as much as his daddy!!! That's when I hit the DVD's lol. Thanks again for taking the time to comment x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tickle Cottage is the ideal holiday base”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a superb holiday in Filey staying at Tickle Cottage.
The cottage was very clean and modern with lovely decor throughout. The 2nd bedroom with bunks and a single was a bit of a squeeze but nothing to worry about as we were only staying for a week. Wifi was a big plus! as were the tv/dvd combis in each room!
The communal area out the back went down very well with the children, they were able to play out safely and make new friends. Whilst the communal area was just that, it did lack privacy but we had no trouble and it was always very peaceful after 9ish throughout our stay.
The beach was brilliant made all the better by the lovely hot weather we had. We drove to the access road an parked at the top then unloaded all our gear and walked the short hill down to the beach.
The pub was ok, quite busy but as it should be I guess for school holiday season.
The cafe served lovely pizza but I found the service a little embarrassing, there was a Yorkshire lad putting on an Italian accent when it suited him - why?!!
The pool was brilliant, immaculate facilities, not too busy and very clean - wonderful.
Overall - A very memorable holiday in Filey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location for the beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments and we're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. When you have the lovely weather too it's a bonus. Your feedback is really important and very much appreciated so thank you, we hope to see you again soon.
Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsH1971
Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent holiday, cant wait to go back”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Brilliant accommodation, the cottage has everything you will need plus extras. It's full of lovely homely touches. Very clean and comfortable.
The Bay itself is lovely, so peaceful, everyone was friendly, plenty to do. The pub serves huge portions of great food.
It's a great base for visiting the area, loads of places to visit. Husband & daughter loved flamingos land - a must if you like roller coasters. Eden camp was also a very good day out.
Wish we'd booked for longer, definitely wasn't ready to go home. The visitor book is full of positive comments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage is a home from home
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and taking the time to comment it is very much appreciated and essential for maintaining standards. We do hope you will visit agin soon.
Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue110862
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“just gorgeous”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just spent a fab weekend at Tickle Cottage with friends. It has everything you could poss need and more for a comfortable stay. We walked into Filey via the beach, visited Scarborough and Robin Hoods Bay, had a lovely morning swim at the pool and a very filling meal at the on site friendly pub. We made the most of the sunshine and enjoyed a bbq on the terrace, only one negative ....it wasnt long enough! Cant wait to go back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the excellent location
Liked least: packing up to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. The walk to Filey along the beach is beautiful and just the right amount of walking! I do hope we can welcome you to Tickle again some time in the near future.
Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved the cottage, loved the site, loved the area.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Tickle Cottage provides first-class rental accommodation. We couldn't have asked for better and we loved the relaxing decor. The site at The Bay was very clean and we enjoyed our meals at the on-site pub. As senior citizens, we did not take advantage of the on-site swimming pool and other facilities but think these would be great for families. We enjoyed long walks with our little dog on the South Beach at Bridlington and along the cliff top at Sewerby, but didn't try the walk to the beach from The Bay as it looked a bit too steep to attempt the walk back in view of our age!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't fault anything (except the builders!).
Liked least: The only thing we disliked was when, on two days, builders parked their vans right outside the front door to the cottage, once just inches away from the door, but it was only a minor problem as we were out most of the time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your break at Tickle Cottage and thank you for taking the time to comment Sheila, we hope to welcome you again at some point in the future.
Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing