We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful short break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tickle Cottage

Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Dining area for six
Second bedroom can sleep 3. Includes hairdryer and TV/DVD
King size bedroom with huilt in wardrobe area includes TV/DVD, hairdryer, iron/board and slippers
The duck family are sitting tennants but they do behave!
Modern bathroom with overhead shower, wall towel rail and skylight
Swimming pool area with sauna and steam room, complimentary access when staying at Tickle Cottage
The very important . . .pub!
Fishing lake
View from the top of the private access road
Ho Ho Ho
Have a Tickle Christmas
Park you car directly outside the cottage and explore!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eunice B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful short break”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A beautiful cottage,well located in The Bay Complex Filey.
Tickle Cottage has everything you need, it is a"Home from home" with lots of nice extras.
The weather was fabulous and on site facilities are extremely good.
Rosie our dog loved the beach and the meadow.The fact The Bay was very dog friendly is important to us and we will return again soon.
Sally the owner was very helpful. Many Thanks.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Still some construction taking place on the site.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay Eunice and we would love to welcome you back again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyJS198...
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Christmas getaway”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Had a wonderful stay just after Christmas with my parents and 2 daughters (aged 4 and 6). It was such a relaxing stay, the complex is fantastic with lovely pub serving great food and the pool area is wonderful, very child friendly. Also enjoyed a lovely facial in the spa!
The complex boasts access to the beach, but watch out for the quick tide changes!!
Tickle cottage itself it's beautiful, tastefully furnished, comfortable and clean, home from home. The kids were comfortable and there are DVDs to watch on quiet nights in.
It's only a 10 minute drive into Filey itself and there is a big supermarket.
All in all a wonderful break end will definitely hope yo return again, would highly recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
We're pleased you enjoyed it thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to welcome you again xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyfish1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Book it!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at tickle cottage for the first time with friends and I have to say it won't be the last. The site was peaceful, spotless and secure. The beach was a short walk away and the local facilities were a few minutes on foot. Although we didn't try the pool and sauna it did look lovely. The site pub is cosy and friendly with open fires and comfy chairs. You can use tickle as a base and visit local towns such as brid or Scarborough or you can just relax and enjoy the tranquil setting. The cottage itself is spacious and comfortable,with games and DVDs galore if you just want to chill. The patio doors lead out to a large central grassed area where you can have bbqs in summer or sit and look at the stars on an evening, the beds are comfortable and the owner Sally even left us all little chocolate surprises on our pillows - It's the little things in life :) I only have one complaint and that was that the stay wasn't long enough so i'm planning on returning with my boyfriend to enjoy another long weekend soon! Thank you for a perfect weekend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2014
Thank you for your great comments and for your additional booking, I hope your boyfriend likes it or you'll be in trouble!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Dec 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment and we would love to welcome you back next year. Have a great Christmas xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kmemj123
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Tickle Cottage”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Tickle Cottage with our 3 children (4, 2 & 8months) for a weekend in September. We had a wonderful weekend, the cottage is perfect, furnished to a high standard and had everything we needed for our stay. The great choice of dvds and the tv in the kids room was a bonus. We didn't have any problems with the travel cot, we put it up at the end of the bed in our room where we were still able to get into the closet and in/out of the bedroom so please don't let the previous review put you off. The Bay where the cottage is situated is lovely and has great amenities like the swimming pool, pub and a short walk to the beach. Can not wait to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is beautifully furnished and the free use of the swimming pool was great
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing