We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic place”
lead photo: house and front lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course
Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
All beds are dressed with Egyptian cotton sheets and guests are provided with towels
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
The snug - a hideway that's a great place for a sundowner with a balcony looking south and west
Baby grand piano - tuned and ready to go!
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Time for tea..
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Tea time
The house looking from the South garden
Playing on the lawn
The house looking from the golf course
The house looking from the garden terrace
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak panelled dining room for dining in style
Christmas Day in South Wing
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Hunmanby beach, seven miles of beautiful beach
Scarborough Spa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie T
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were lucky enough to have a long weekend at this property last week. We were a party of 8 adults the place was huge but still managed to have a homely feel.The whole place was filled with beautiful furniture and the amenities were spot on.Eating int the dining room was really special we felt like we were having a medieval banquet!!!. The gardens are stunning it felt like we were sat in our own little park. We all go away somewhere every year but we all fell in love with this house and think its the favorite of them all.Andrew and his wife have thought of everything you could possibly need while you're there on holiday and the sign on the wall tells you to enjoy your stay its your holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the house
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Hi Julie, many thanks for this fabulous review and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we'll see you again to enjoy the house and the beautiful North Yorkshire coast and countryside!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penderpet...
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fabulous 70th!”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We celebrated a 70th birthday with 6 adults and 5 children (aged between 2 and 10 years old) at South Wing. The children revelled in the space that South Wing afforded, naming one room off the main bedroom as the "Tower," where they played games. The vast selection of toys was appreciated, too. The kitchen facilities were excellent- everything worked! Every room was a treat to be in; the views across the lawn and into the park/golf course beyond were amazing. Hunmanby has all you need for a week's stay, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Hi Penderpete, thank you for this fabulous review! Its great to hear you and your family enjoyed the house and grounds and look forward to seeing you back at South Wing in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisamanou...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the south wing for a family 60th birthday, the place and grounds are spectacular, we were supposed to have a day out but we never left the house we had a bbq played rounders and football and a couple of drinks or two! All in all I cannot fault anything and will be returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Hi Lisa, that's great to hear and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. June is a lovely time of year with the garden coming in to full bloom and long evenings to enjoy it with a bbq. I hope we see you back at the house soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen K
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very lovely house - convenient for walking, buses,trains and shops - what more could anyone want ??! We were a group of 8 pensioners and we enjoyed ourselves very much.
Thank you Andrew

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views across the grounds
Liked least: Everything good
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael B
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house - highly recommend to anyone”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at South Wing for a family celebration weekend and couldn't have asked for more. The house itself has a real "wow" factor and is full of character - large,airy rooms with floor to ceiling windows and stunning views over the large garden/golf course. The house itself was so warm, clean and comfortable and the kitchen is fantastically equipped. Great location too - a 2 minute walk from Hunmanby village, which itself is located nearby to larger towns such as Filey/Scarborough.

Our age group ranged from 7 to 70 years and everyone thoroughly enjoyed staying at South Wing and didn't want to leave!! I would highly recommend this special house to anyone, I have no negative comments at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dramatic character of the house/size of rooms
Liked least: No security light outside entrance door- made it very dark on a night upon entry
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you Rachael for this fabulous review! I think you have summed up South Wing beautifully and I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing