We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
lead photo: house and front lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course
Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
All beds are dressed with Egyptian cotton sheets and guests are provided with towels
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
The snug - a hideway that's a great place for a sundowner with a balcony looking south and west
Baby grand piano - tuned and ready to go!
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Time for tea..
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Tea time
The house looking from the South garden
Playing on the lawn
The house looking from the golf course
The house looking from the garden terrace
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak panelled dining room for dining in style
Christmas Day in South Wing
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Hunmanby beach, seven miles of beautiful beach
Scarborough Spa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisamanou...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the south wing for a family 60th birthday, the place and grounds are spectacular, we were supposed to have a day out but we never left the house we had a bbq played rounders and football and a couple of drinks or two! All in all I cannot fault anything and will be returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Hi Lisa, that's great to hear and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. June is a lovely time of year with the garden coming in to full bloom and long evenings to enjoy it with a bbq. I hope we see you back at the house soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen K
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very lovely house - convenient for walking, buses,trains and shops - what more could anyone want ??! We were a group of 8 pensioners and we enjoyed ourselves very much.
Thank you Andrew

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views across the grounds
Liked least: Everything good
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael B
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house - highly recommend to anyone”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at South Wing for a family celebration weekend and couldn't have asked for more. The house itself has a real "wow" factor and is full of character - large,airy rooms with floor to ceiling windows and stunning views over the large garden/golf course. The house itself was so warm, clean and comfortable and the kitchen is fantastically equipped. Great location too - a 2 minute walk from Hunmanby village, which itself is located nearby to larger towns such as Filey/Scarborough.

Our age group ranged from 7 to 70 years and everyone thoroughly enjoyed staying at South Wing and didn't want to leave!! I would highly recommend this special house to anyone, I have no negative comments at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dramatic character of the house/size of rooms
Liked least: No security light outside entrance door- made it very dark on a night upon entry
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you Rachael for this fabulous review! I think you have summed up South Wing beautifully and I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole M
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We celebrated my daughters 40th Birthday at South-Wing. It was a wonderful place to stay. Plenty of room and the layout of the bathrooms makes it very easy to share if you have a number of people to accommodate. The beautiful dining room was perfect for us all to be seated comfortably. We look forward to be able to visit again during warmer weather to take advantage of the garden.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northyork...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow!!! What a place!

We stayed here as a party of 10 - 5 couples. It's not often we get to have a weekend to ourselves so we were all looking forward to it. We knew South Wing was going to be pretty special but just didn't realise how fabulous it actually is!

The place is huge and although I'd looked at the photos many times, they didn't do the place justice. All the bedrooms were lovely and comfy. Everything was spotless. One person in our party is abit of a clean freak and even she couldn't find any faults!

South Wing is situated perfectly. We parked up and did the whole 2 min walk to The Cottage pub for our lunch and it was brilliant and a bargain. In fact, the men visited the pubs several times over the weekend! The shops and supermarket are within a 2 min walk as well so it's just perfect.

We loved it and have already enquired about returning next year and hopefully are going to book in the next day or so. We felt that the house was perfect for the 10 of us. The men would often congregate in the TV room to watch the football whilst us women were quite happy in the bigger living room. All the rooms were so comfortable and although the kitchen is slightly small compared to the rest of the house, you name it and it's in there!

The men cooked us a beautiful meal one evening and we all sat in the magnificent dining room feeling like we were in an episode of Downton Abbey! We loved it that there was ipod docks all over the house and whatever you needed, you could find. The utility room was brilliant for our mucky boots after a long walk one afternoon and we even sat outside in the garden over a g&t one afternoon - just perfect!

From the moment we booked, the owners were so professional. I would email them over anything and never once was I made to feel that I was pestering them or a burden over my many questions!

We can't wait for our return visit next year!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!!
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for this fantastic review - It sounds like you love the house as much as I do! Looking forward to seeing you back next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing