We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing holiday house”
other travellers have booked this property
Cubble Head and grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cubble Head and grounds
The kitchen has lovely oak units and is fully equipped for creative cooks! Amazing views The breakfast area is lovely for informal family meals
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Cubble Head and grounds
The kitchen has lovely oak units and is fully equipped for creative cooks! Amazing views
The breakfast area is lovely for informal family meals
Delicious welcome tray!
The living room is great for relaxing
There are also DVDs, books and games for any wet days
Fresh flowers in the living room
The separate dining room means the cottage is spacious for a larger group
The original fireplace and alcove are stylish features
The main bedroom has a very comfortable superking size bed
A detail in the bedroom
Bedroom 2 -A lovely double room with window seat, views, walk in cupboard and a TV
Bedroom 3 - A cosy single room, newly redecorated; the window seat has lovely views of Burtersett
Bedroom 4 - A cosy single room,  newly redecorated with a window seat and antique Lloyd Loom chair
The downstairs bathroom also has a shower and terrific views!
View from the kitchen window
..and this is the view from the patio
Early summer meadows, seen from the kitchen window
Summer picnic in the garden (one of our guests took this photo!)
Drink in the view from our picnic table!
Looking South from the patio by the kitchen, up towards Wether Fell
Burtersett village, across the meadows in early summer
We have marvellous wildlife including Little owls in the old barn  - photo taken at Cubble Head
A snowy morning in December
Cubble Head all ready for Christmas
A snowy walk from the cottage to Gayle for hot chocolate in the Creamery
Spring lambs in the field  - a week old
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing holiday house”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

the 6 of us and 2 dogs arrived at Cubble Head on the Saturday afternoon and where met and greeted by Liz and Richard who gave us a guided tour and a welcome pack they are wonderful. the views from the house immediately grabbed us they are amazing. the house had everything we wanted and more, the rooms are really lovely and the bedrooms are amazing we enjoyed every moment. there are many wonderful walks on the doorstep and lots of interesting places to visit. the Crown in Hawes serves amazing food and wonderful real ale and is very welcoming. we will certainly come back to Cubble Head, thank you Liz and Richard.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a good holiday despite some pretty elemental weather and that the house had everything that you wanted and more. Thank you for commenting on our rooms and bedrooms, the views and the walks. We are very fortunate that Cubble Head has such stunning views of Wensleydale and we have tried hard to make it a beautiful, warm and welcoming home-from-home for guests.

We are very pleased indeed to hear that you are planning to return and look foward to meeting you all again soon!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Staying anywhere in November is a risk but we were rewarded with a well equipped cottage that was warm and welcoming. The owners went out of their way to make us welcome and to facilitate our needs (we had a change over of guests). There were small attention to details that were lovely (fresh flowers) and nice thick towels.
The location is handy for access to Hawes which can be reached by a gorgeous walk. The views were lovely and we were content to sit and watch birds feeding and rainbows!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are so pleased that you found Cubble Head warm, welcoming and well equipped. We were very pleased to be able to welcome you and it was no problem at all to help you with extra bedding etc for your guest change over.
As you say, the walk to Hawes is wonderful - and there is a choice of routes there and back so you can do a circular walk if you wish. We totally agree with you about the views from the cottage and the wildlife!
It was lovely to meet you all and we do hope you will come back to Cubble Head in the future.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edna H
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An awesome abode”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous house to stay in. Very comfortable beds, clean spacious rooms, and a fabulous welcome tray on arrival. An open fire ensured cosy evenings too.
The views from the house are outstanding, with lots of wildlife to be seen too.
A great base for lots of walks and places to visit... The walk into Hawes is a delight too.
This was our second stay at Cubble Head, and we are planning on staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the house, locality and views are outstanding.
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Many thanks for such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and are planning to come back. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable beds, the spacious rooms and the open fire. We agree with you that Cubble Head is very well located for walks and trips out and very pleased that you enjoyed our wildlife and, of course, the panoramic views!

Looking forward to meeting you all again in 2017.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hor51
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A true hidden gem!”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our first visit to Cubble Head and we were highly delighted with our choice!
We were met and welcomed by Liz and Richard who showed us the ropes and left us with a beautiful welcome basket of local goodies together with a very palatable bottle of the old Vino!
This old detached property has been tastefully and passionately refurbished with everything you would need to make your stay cosy and comfortable! We loved the decor and wood floorings making it very child and dog friendly!

The views are just awesome from both the front and rear of the house and the tranquility of the setting is wonderful! However you are only a stone throw away from the vibrant village of Hawes where you will find everything you would need! The local area is breathtaking with walks on your doorstep and many exciting places to see including Leyburn , Muker and Masham to name a few!

We didn't want to come home as we enjoyed our stay thoroughly even though the weather wasn't kind to us!

A very lovely property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole stay
Liked least: Packing up on Saturday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are so pleased that you chose Cubble Head for your holiday and that you very clearly enjoyed your stay so much. We love the Yorkshire Dales too and completely agree with you that there are so many exciting places to see and wonderful walks in all directions. Thank you for your comment that we have refurbished the house with taste and passion - we have certainly tried to do so!
When the sun shines, the Dales are even better and we do hope very much that you will return to Cubble Head to experience this in the future.

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrythed...
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our last night in Cubble Head and what a fantastic stay. A spacious well equipped cottage which is modern and tastefully decorated without losing the character or charm of the building. Superb views to the front and rear and a large garden which the dogs loved. The welcome was second to none. Fresh flowers in every room, a food basket including cake, cheese, chutney, biscuits and milk in the fridge. Liz could not have been easier to deal with directly and was most helpful. Hawes 1.5 miles away. If you want pubs and local facilities on your doorstep this cottage is not for you. But if you want to be close enough to be convenient with peace and quiet, mountain air and lambs and rabbits as your neighbours don't hesitate to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Many thanks for this lovely review! We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that you clearly enjoyed Cubble Head as much as we do. Many of our guests have commented on the tranquility of the cottage, the views and the marvellous wildlife - yet with the convenience of Hawes just a few minutes' drive or half an hour's walk across the meadows.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Liz and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing